PB&J Smoothie and New Workout Clothes!

February 28, 2012 at 10:18 am 3 comments

Hey friends! Good morning and happy Tuesday! :)

It’s already been a busy morning for me so far, but luckily I don’t have a very busy day ahead, so I can rest a little now.

Before I get into this morning, let’s get back to yesterday! I mentioned on Facebook and Twitter that I made a delicious “Peanut Butter and Jelly” flavored smoothie around mid-morning, and I’m going to share it with you now! I took “Chocolate Covered Katie’s” recipe here and modified it to fit my nutritional needs. My version comes out to around 150 calories!

Combine 1/2 cup of frozen strawberries, 1 tbs peanut butter, 1/4 cup of milk, 1/8 tsp vanilla extract, sweetener of choice, and depending on how you like the consistency, 5-10 ice cubes.

Pre-blend and Post-blend

It was perfect for my mid-morning snack and kept me full past lunch time! :)

Speaking of lunch, Chad and I decided to take our lunch outside on the deck since it was such a pretty day!

Excuse the nasty table top.

After lunch, I decided to head over to Florence a little early (I had a voice lesson at 2) and hit up TJ Maxx and Ross to see if I could find any good deals on workout clothes. I definitely hit the jackpot!

From TJ Maxx, I got New Balance running pants, a purple long-sleeved running top, green Nike sports bra, orange-ish pink Champion sports bra, and a pink dry-fit tank. All for around $60!! I had a gift card to Ross with about $30 left on it, and I bought super comfy yoga pants, a white Adidas sports bra, and a pink Asics tank!

Also from TJ Max, I bought a new tumbler for my smoothie creations and a new coffee that I’ve been looking for everywhere!!

I haven’t used my tumbler yet (I will later this morning when I make another smoothie!), but the coffee is amazing!

Now back to today!

I woke up this morning at 6 and got dressed for my run! I even wore my new pants, sports bra, and long-sleeved top! :)

Today’s run was so tough for me. I’m on week 4 of the Couch to 5K program, and the runs consist of 2 reps of running for 3 minutes, walking for 1 1/2 minutes, running for 5 minutes, and walking for 2 1/2 minutes. I made it through the first set fine, but it was the 2nd round of 5 minute running that killed me! But I never stopped! Also, because of yesterday’s leg killing workout, my legs were very sore and didn’t help at all with my running. Oh well, I made it through and I’ll do it again next time! Positive thoughts! :)

When I got back, I prepped a batch of quick pumpkin oats straight into the yogurt container because it was the last little bit. I let it sit in the fridge for about 45 minutes while I drank coffee, checked emails, and caught up on some blogs. The oats were extra good today because I used sugar free maple brown sugar oatmeal instead of plain! :)

The rest of the morning I’ll be getting ready for my music classes this week, working on music for my lesson and opera, and hopefully getting a haircut! Nothing crazy, just a trim to keep it healthy looking. I’ve also got plans to try out a new smoothie creation this morning that I’ll share with you guys in my next post. I’m super excited about this one and hope it turns out good!

This afternoon, Chad and I are going to check out Aldi’s grocery store to see if we can find some of my healthy food staples at a cheaper price than Walmart. Oh how I wish we had a Trader Joe’s here!! :( I’ll be sure to let you know what we find!

I’ll leave you with this text my brother just sent me.

What a goob ;)

Thanks for reading!

If anyone has any running tips or hints, please please please leave a comment or email me so that we can talk! I need all the help I can get! ;)

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

A New Snack & Giving Up The Scale S’mores Smoothie

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. healthyappletite  |  February 28, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    those workout clothes look great! i desperately need to go and buy some!

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  February 28, 2012 at 12:20 pm

      TJ Maxx and Ross have some seriously good prices! You definitely need to check them out!

      Reply
  • 3. S’mores Smoothie | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  February 29, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    [...] Sweat, Sing Skip to content HomeAboutLet’s Get CraftyRecipesWeight-Loss ← PB&J Smoothie and New Workout Clothes! February 29, 2012 · 5:18 pm ↓ Jump to [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers

