Weekend Fun and NROLFA

March 19, 2012 at 10:32 am Leave a comment

Morning friends! It’s been a fun weekend around here, and I hope yours was good too! But, now we’re back to Monday, and for me, it’s the start of a long and lonely week. :( I’ll get to that later though. First, let me give you a little recap of the things that happened over the weekend.

Saturday, I finished the 3rd run for week 6 in the C25K. This was a very exciting run for me, because I completed my very first 5K distance!! It took me about 30 minutes (including a 5 minute warm up walk) to run the 3.1 miles, and then I ended with a 5 minute cool down walk which made my entire distance about 3.35 miles. I was pretty happy with this, and now most of my runs are going to be the entire 5K distance until race day! :)

The rest of Saturday was spent with Chad, doing some shopping, going out for dinner, and then watching movies at home. A lovely night! :)

Sunday, we had church and then spent the rest of the morning and lunch time together because Chad had to leave to go out of town (for the entire week) around 1:30. Thus the reason for this week being long and lonely. :( I wasn’t happy about Chad leaving for a week, but the reason is exciting. He’s going to licensing school so that he can be ordained as a minister in the United Methodist Church. Yay for Pastor Chad! (That sounds weird.)

After Chad left, I got to work on baking yummy treats for my Walking Dead finale viewing party that night! I made cupcakes to look like brains, and red velvet cake balls to look like eyeballs!

The party started around 7:00 so we could watch last weeks episode as well. People got creative with their food items! :)

There were fingers (sugar cookies with almonds)

More brains! (meatballs)

and some brain “matter” (red pepper jelly and cream cheese dip)

It was one heck of a spread and one heck of a finale! At one point, we were all screaming at the tv. It got very intense. I’m wayyy too pumped for season 3, but I’m extremely sad that I have to wait until the fall before it comes out! :(

Today, I slept in a little and then got to the gym around 7:00. I unexpectedly decided to start the New Rules of Lifting for Abs program today! As I was getting ready to leave, I was extremely unmotivated. I think I just needed something different to do, so I grabbed my NROLFA book and read the last chapter before beginning Phase 1 of the program. It seemed very simple and almost easy, but let me just tell you, I was shaking and making audible straining sounds (just like the guys that get on my nerves do!) as I was completing this workout. I only completed 2 out of the 3 sets of the strength section because I could tell I had already pushed myself more than I was used to and didn’t want to hurt myself. I know I’ll be sore within hours.

I left the gym feeling like jello, barely able to walk without shaking. When I got home, I realized that I did not have Chad here to make my omelet! So I had to try it on my own. I never got a picture, but I will say that it looked and tasted awesome! But please don’t tell Chad because then he’ll make me fix my own omelets. ;)

I’ve got tons of things to get done before I go to my lesson this afternoon. Plus I have an added opera rehearsal this evening, so I won’t be home until much later than normal. So I’ve got wrap up this post and start my work! I’ll hopefully have a post up later that better explains my NROLFA workouts, because I’m sure that what I wrote above is very confusing.

Thanks for reading! :)

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life. Tags: .

Five Facts Friday Spring is Here!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,382 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

