My New Diet Decision

April 24, 2012 at 10:22 am 1 comment

Helloooooo, and good morning to you all! :) I’ve had a wonderful couple of days of rest over here, which I needed badly after all the opera rehearsals and performances. But, we’re back for one more rehearsal tonight to get ready for our last two shows this week! I’m so sad to be doing this for the last time, but I guess all good things must come to an end. Plus, I’m preparing for my audition for next seasons opera which is Amahl and the Night Visitors. Auditions are next week, so I’ve gotta work fast! ;)

I’m not going to be talking about food today because I’ve missed 2 days of yummy things, so I’m going to save it for my WIAW post tomorrow! Let’s talk about the package I got in the mail yesterday. A few weeks ago, I won a Luna bar on twitter from the company, so when I got a small package from Clif Bar, I knew exactly what it was. I opened it and found my beloved Chocolate Peppermint Stick, but upon further investigation, saw that something else was in the box. I pulled it out and found this.

20120424-090005.jpg

Yes, that’s a chocolate dipped coconut flavor scented Luna Chapstick!! Which by the way is my new favorite flavor because it tastes like an almond joy! This is the exact face I made when I realized what it was.

20120424-090207.jpg
The reason my hair looks like a hot mess is because I had just returned from teaching high school show choir and I normally leave those rehearsals looking like a monster.

Earlier in the day, I did the Tone It Up Under the Sea workout video ( because I never made it to the gym), but I felt like I needed something more. So I geared up and went out for a run. I was only going to run for a short time, but ended up turning it into a training run for my 5k this weekend. I ran the 3.1 miles in a little more than 32 minutes with about a 10:15 pace! Maybe I can actually get a 30 minute 5k time on Saturday! :)

I planned on going to the gym to strength train today to give my legs a rest from running, but ended up sleeping until 7:30. I think my body already thinks that it’s summer time. ;) Hopefully I’ll be able to get to the gym sometime before lunch!

One last thing I want to talk about is my calorie intake. I’ve recently upped the amount of calories I’ve been eating because I reached a good weight and wanted to focus on maintaining. But I don’t think my brain was ready to have this many more calories at once. I found myself having a lot of calories leftover at night and then thinking that I can have a really good “dessert,” but this sort of triggers me into a crazy eating frenzy and I start going back for more. Some nights I’m able to control it, but other nights I just go crazy! I eat fine during the day and make healthy choices, but at night (especially after dinner) I want every bad food in the house. This has been going on for weeks, and I know it’s having an effect of my body and my weight. So I made the decision to cut back my calories again to hopefully lose a few of the lbs I may have gained, and very slowly adding them back into my diet so that my body and brain can adjust properly. I’ll be consuming around 1,400 calories a day with one cheat meal/treat per week. Wish me luck and any suggestions or helpful comments you want to give me would be greatly appreciated! :)

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life. Tags: .

Two Kinds of High WIAW & Scary Hair

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  April 24, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Whoa that chapstick looks heavenly. Maintaining is the hardest part but it really takes patience to let your body have a few ups and downs until you finally figure out what works. Hang in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers

