Swampers 5k, I Did It!

April 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm 4 comments

I DID IT! I ran my first 5k today! I was so nervous when I woke up this morning because I made a few too many unhealthy food choices yesterday and thought it would effect my abilities. But I never felt bad, so I guess no harm was done!

I started my morning with a cup of coffee and a clif kid z bar for some running fuel. Then me and Chad went to the school gym to pick up my race bag.

I was pretty excited! ;)

This race used chips to track our times that we attached to our shoes. It was pretty spiffy.

I stopped at the bathroom one last time before heading down to the starting line.

There were over 400 people running this morning! :)

Then, we were off!

The race started out awesome, but I could tell I was running a little faster than normal. But, I kept it up for as long as I could. When I reached the 1st mile marker, I saw that my time was 9:30 which is almost a minute better than normal. This pumped me up, and I was able to keep this pace all the way to the 2nd mile marker where my time was 19:20! I was so excited, but that’s when I could feel my energy draining. I’m not going to lie, that last mile was hard, but I pushed myself until I saw that finish line. I could see the time was at 29:30ish and wanted to be under 30 minutes so bad, so a took off and sprinted across the line! My final time ended up being 29:43 and I placed 8th out of 18 in my division! :)

Chad was able to find me once, and it was when I sprinted to the finish line!

Yay me! I felt so awesome afterwards (well, after I could breath again).

I took a celebratory picture with my personal photographer. ;)

Then I found my sweet cousin Tess, who placed 2nd in her division!

And here we are wit my aunt Lisa too!

I look like a GIANT next to them.

I also had some orange slices and granola bars along with all the water I was chugging. It was such a fun morning, and cannot wait to race again!! Of course, now I want to train for even longer runs! I see a 10k or possibly 1/2 marathon in the distant future! ;)

I’m off to bed early tonight friends! I’m feeling extra sleepy and think I deserve a good night’s sleep. :) Have a great Saturday night and weekend everyone!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running. Tags: .

WIAW & Scary Hair WIWOW?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori McKelvey  |  April 28, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    Congrats Grace! You’ll reach 10k status in no time! You run in the exact same pair of Nikes as me :) love my Frees. Phil 4:13.

    Reply
  • 2. Shellie Smith  |  April 29, 2012 at 8:16 am

    AWSOME, You done GREAT!!!! I am doing my first 5K in June at 39 and four kids later, but I have no excuse they are all older than 14. I think you done great time for your first race!!

    Reply
  • 3. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy  |  April 29, 2012 at 11:39 am

    Great job! Congrats!

    Reply
  • 4. May Goals! | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  May 4, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    [...] 5. Run my first 5K!!! CHECK!!!! Read my race recap here! [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,382 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

