Five [Awesome] Things Friday

September 6, 2013 at 4:06 pm 1 comment

My emotions are alllllll over the place these days. (No, I’m not pregnant) But I did feel like I need to talk a little bit about the good in my life to reassure everyone that I’m not depressed. :)

I have plenty of times when I’m feeling down and discouraged, but I’ve also been having random, overwhelming feelings of freedom and happiness.

Even though my life is busier than ever, I feel okay. Thinking back to one year ago, if I would have had this much going on, I would be SO stressed out about missing my workouts (from sleeping in because I was up late at a JV football game for example), not having time to make healthy dinners at home, etc.

But, since I’m working on myself and trying to live a little more of a normal life, these things don’t stress me out as much. Actually, I think it’s making my life seem more exciting. I’m even feeling happier throughout the day at work because every day there’s something different. I don’t wake, workout, go to work, go home, cook dinner, go to bed, all at the same time anymore. It changes just about every day.

I’m not saying that I enjoy not being able to cook dinner for me and Chad every night though (the last time I cooked was over a week ago). It’s just that I feel like I’m doing more in my life than just being healthy.

So with all of that said, here are 5 things in my life that are awesome! :)

Running

Even if I miss a day at the gym, I won’t miss a day of running! I’m really loving it right now, and I’m even getting used to not having music. With all the stuff I’ve got going on, it’s a time for me to just be quiet and alone with my thoughts.

RUN1

I did 4 miles yesterday morning (in pitch black darkness if you can’t tell) in my new pair of Mizuno Inspires. My left foot is still feeling kind of funky and going a little numb, but I’m going to try them out one more time this weekend (and loosen the laces) to see if they work. If not, then I’ll send them back and order them a half size bigger, but I really want these to work!!

Tomorrow is going to be a crazy day for running. I’ve got a 10 mile long run on my training plan, but I’ve also signed up for a 5 mile mud run called The River Bottom Romp. It’s just like all those other mud runs/warrior dashes where you run through mud and water, go through obstacles, and all that jazz. My team is made up of some fellow GWT teachers, so it should be a pretty fun race. I just hope I can keep up with them after a 10 miler! (Maybe I’ll scale back my morning run a bit? Thoughts?)

Spending Time with Family

FAM

Sunday lunches, watching football together, sibling hang-outs, Labor Day get-together, etc. All this time spent with my family is making me seriously happy. :)

My Church Family

Nothing puts me in a better mood than being at church and worshiping God with people I love. I love that I got to sing with Drew this past Sunday during our Awaken service. While singing “Blessings,” the lyrics just kind of hit me and got me all choked up at the end. It was a little embarrassing to cry while I was singing, but the message I got from the song was well worth it. :)

Rest from Workouts

I know that getting my workouts in this week would have been great, but I sure did enjoy getting some extra sleep on the morning I was supposed to go to the gym. :)

Chad, duh ;)

beach3

I really don’t even have the words to describe how awesome this guy is. :) He hasn’t had a cooked meal in over a week and hasn’t complained to me once. He washes the dishes for me when he can and keeps the house clean when I won’t. ;) He tells me every day that I’m beautiful and makes me feel loved. And most important, he waits until I get home to watch the “Threat Level Midnight” episode of The Office.  I just love that guy. :)

So, even though things are pretty hard right now, I still have plenty of awesome to keep me going. Thank you so much for your comments, Facebook messages, texts, etc. Knowing that there are people reading this and reaching out to help me is so encouraging! You guys are awesome! I guess that makes six awesome things for Friday. ;)

Entry filed under: Life, Running, Uncategorized. Tags: .

It’s Hard All Caught Up

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  September 6, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    those are all awesome things, especially those mizunos :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,382 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

