It. Is. Cold.

February 7, 2012 at 9:13 am 3 comments

Morning everyone!! Today has already started out strong!

I woke up at 6:00 to start Day 1 of the Couch to 5K program! But before I went out, I had a piece of cinnamon toast to get my metabolism started. This week should be pretty easy, because it’s just 30 minutes of a “jog for 60 seconds, walk for 90 seconds” cycle. But, just because it’s not too physically demanding, doesn’t mean that it’s not tough, especially when the weather looks like this.

I’ll confess to you guys that I ended this morning’s run about 5 minutes early. Chad had to leave at a certain time, and I didn’t take a house key with me, so I had to come back before I was done. But, here are a few things I learned about running outside, in the morning, during February.

1. GLOVES. I kept my hands tucked inside my jacket sleeves the whole time.

2. EAR WARMER. I thought my ears were going to fall off during the first 15 minutes, then I think they did. Or maybe they just went numb and I could feel them?

3. Figure out how to play my music along with the iPhone app. The app pretty much tells me when to walk/jog so I don’t have to watch the clock, but i got a little too quite between.

4. Have some tissue in my pocket. I don’t know what it is about the cold, but something about it make all of the nasty things in my nose come out. TMI?

5. Figure out the route I want to take. I like running outside much more than being on a treadmill, but I wasn’t sure how far I’d be going this morning, so I just started going and turning down random roads. Next time, I’ll be more prepared.

So, I think my first day was a success. I feel good and refreshed now and ready for the day!

After my run, I came in and downed a cup of coffee, then got to work on breakfast. I brought back my favorite cereal combo again!ย  1/2 a cup of each.

I’m onto my 2nd cup of coffee now and about to start finishing up some last minute things for this weeks music classes. Then we’re going to get Pierre at 10!!! I’ll be back later with pictures, lunch, a new recipe I’m trying out tonight, and probably a “Tuesday 10” post!

Thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

Questions:

-Does anyone have any running suggestions for my 5k training? Leave a comment if you do, I’d love to hear from some people!

-Any suggestions for taking in a stray doggy??? We’ve never done anything like this before and don’t really know what to expect from Pierre? Again, leave a comment!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life.

A Late Workout and Cheesy Mexican Chicken Recipe! Tuesday 10

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Go With the Dough  |  February 8, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    My best training advice is to work with your body and stick with a plan. I love having a training plan to hold myself accountable, but I also know when I need to cut back (or push ahead!)

    Good luck!!

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  February 8, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      Thanks so much for the advice! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 3. Five Things Friday « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  February 8, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    […] was exactly one year ago yesterday that I set out on my very first run using the Couch to 5K plan. Here’s where I wrote about my first run…. it kind of pains me to read that old post. haha Anyway, I’m so proud of how much […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

