A Sparkly Surpise and A New Dessert!

February 9, 2012 at 7:50 pm Leave a comment

It’s Thursday! That means we’re one step closer to Friday and the weekend! Get excited folks!

As for today, it looked something like this….

I completed today’s Couch to 5k run this morning! I used my new gloves, hat, and I wore some leggings under my pants. The only thing I would do different, is not wear a jacket over my running top. I”ll be cold at first, but I know I’ll warm up eventually. I ended up taking the jacket off halfway through my run. My legs felt great throughout, though I got a little winded towards the end. But, I know that the more I run, the better I will feel! I can’t wait to sign up for a race at the end of the training! I’m thinking about the Chick-fil-a Charity 5K in Athens, AL or one closer to home called the Swampers 5k in Muscle Shoals. I’ll keep you up-to-date with my progress! πŸ™‚

Breakfast this morning was more filling oatmeal, but I used a little less cocoa powder to make it less rich. Also, instead of using a bowl, I just poured the oats straight into the Oikos yogurt container because there was only a serving of it left anyway. Very tasty!

Lunch wasn’t as impressive. Just a turkey sandwich, an apple, and some yogurt. But, the yogurt was the best part of it all! I tried a new-to-meΒ  yogurt from weight watchers. No, I’m not on weight watchers, but I can still eat their food! πŸ˜‰

This yogurt was so good! Tasted just like apple pie and ice cream! It was the highlight of my day at work.

After school, I went straight to Florence for opera rehearsal. On the way, I snacked on another Clif Kid Z Bar. We staged some of the first act today, and it went really well. It actually got pretty tough at the end when we had to do a lighting “fighting” choreography with broomsticks. But this opera is going to be so much fun to do, and I can’t wait to stage the rest!

After opera, I came straight home and found a surprise waiting on me in the form of a package.

I knew what it was as soon as I saw it…. the sparkly headband from Sparkly Soul!!!!! I’ve been waiting on this for over a week! Of course I immediately tried it on.

It’s lined with velvet so that it stays on your head without slipping. It’s basically the most diva workout band every, and I plan on wearing it every time I go to the gym. Unless I buy another one.

I celebrated by having one of these before dinner.

Speaking of dinner, it wasn’t very special tonight. Just a meal from a box courtesy of Betty Crocker. She seems to make an appearance a lot in my kitchen. Don’t judge.

I’m more excited about the dessert I will be fixing later on tonight. I got this idea from my good friend Molly. Molly, if you’re reading, THANKS!!! πŸ™‚

Baked Banana Dessert

1 banana

1 tbs of peanut butter

1 tbs semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/4 cup of mini marshmallows

Cut banana in half, spread peanut butter, and pile on the mallows and choc. chips. Broil for about 5 minutes (or until mallows turn brown). And there you have it! A baked banana dessert!

I haven’t made mine yet, so I’ll give you a picture of Molly’s banana.

Yep, I stole that pic straight from Instagram. Don’t hate me Molly.

We’ll be taking Pierre down to visit Mom and the other dogs later tonight too. He’s met them once, but they haven’t had a chance to play yet. I’m interested to see what happens.

If you try the banana dessert, let me know how you like it!! πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Recipes.

Burger Salad?? MY Truth About Diet and Exercise

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

