MY Truth About Diet and Exercise

February 10, 2012 at 6:32 pm Leave a comment

HAPPY FRIDAY!! 🙂

It’s a coooold one here today but a good one nonetheless!

I started the day off right with a good workout of incline intervals on the treadmill for 20 minutes and then a full body circuit that took about 45 minutes.

My breakfast was the usual.

And in my lunch box was a mixture of all things good.

Turkey sandwich, string cheese, apple, and fat free yogurt

 After work, I had a wedge of laughing cow cheese on two wasa crackers for a snack, and I am also about to sit down with another cup of coffe because I feel so drained. I have no idea why, but I hate feeling like this on a Friday, because I like spending my Fridays staying up a little later to spend time with Chad and not be in the bed by 8:00. Coffee, do your thing please!

Tonight’s dinner is still being decided upon. But, I have something a little deeper that dinner to talk about tonight…

So friends, it’s safe to say that we’ve all been on diets and exercise plans before, yes? I’m assuming so. Let’s all agree that it’s not easy to diet because we have to limit some of our favorite foods, and it’s not easy to exercise because, well we have to actually move our bodies around for long periods of time. But, I think that we make diet and exercise seem like such a terrible thing when in reality, it’s not. Eating healthy and staying fit should be a normal thing, not just something that people do to lose weight and then go right back to living the way they were before.

I really like the saying “Exercise to be healthy, not to be skinny.” So many people go on crazy diets to get that “bikini season body,” but what’s funny, is that once they get there, they go back to old habits, and halfway through the summer look just like they did before. What’s the point??? I’ll admit that I’ve been guilty of this in the past. In college, I would diet all semester, and then once I had a break from school, I’d go right back to my unhealthy ways and have to start over again the next semester. I was essentially, an idiot. But this time around has been much different. I’m learning that exercise can actually be fun, and that I want to continue running, lifting weights, and working out until I”m too old to handle it anymore! I’ve also learned that eating healthy can be a lifestyle commitment, not just a “I’ll suck it up and eat only 1,000 calories a day until I weight exactly this much” commitment. I mean seriously, do you really think you can be healthy by only eating 1,000 calories a day??? Yes you’ll lose weight, but guess what else you’ll be losing?? MUSCLE. That’s right, the one thing our body has that naturally helps burn fat, you’ll lose. Muscle weight will disappear, and the fat weight will be here to stay. You’ll be fat skinny. What good is being skinny if you’re still fat?? I want to be toned and have muscles to show off in the summer time. I don’t want to only look good in winter clothes.

So boys and girls, this is why you need to do a little research. Figure out how many calories your body burns naturally and how many calories you burn in exercise. Google it. There are plenty of websites that will give you the formulas to figure this out. Add the two numbers together. The number you get is the number of calories you should be eating to stay the same weight. If you want to lose weight, decrease that number by no more than 1,000. That’s it.

So, what’s my advice for someone who want to lose weight, get fit, and be healthy for the rest of his/her life???

Don’t stay at the gym for hours and hours burning calories and come home to refuel with a 90 calorie special k bar.

Don’t eat Lean Cuisines (or any other “healthy” meal in a box) for dinner every night. Where are the nutrients???

Don’t think that you’ll burn fat by doing hours of cardio. Cardio is good, but all you’re doing is burning endless calories and maybe some fat here and there.

Do strength train and lift weights! No you wont look like a body building man. You’ll become toned and strong and you’ll melt away fat!

Don’t drink all the diet cokes you want. It says zero calories, but technically the FDA allows companies to put 0 calories on nutrition labels as long as there are less that .5 cals per serving. Also, if you’ll look carefully on the 20 oz diet drinks, a lot of them now say “10 calories per bottle” on the front and 0 calories per serving on the label. Tricksters.

Don’t deprive yourself forever. Look, it’s completely okay to have a treat now and then. Eat some cake, have a fancy dinner, drink an 800 calorie coffee concoction from Starbucks. Just don’t do it all the time. Have a cheat meal, not a cheat day (or week, or month!).

So guys, that’s what’s been on my brain for the past few weeks. It may be a little scattered and random at times, and I apologize for that. Also, I am in no way a nutritionist or professional trainer. I did not get a degree in health. This is just what I’ve learned over the years and through researching other professionals’ websites and blogs. Hope this has helped you! 🙂

Any questions or comments?? Email me at mgmills1@gmail.com or comment on the blog!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life.

A Sparkly Surpise and A New Dessert! A Nothing Day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

