New Kicks = Fun Running

February 19, 2012 at 2:58 pm Leave a comment

Happy Sunday!

I hope you all enjoyed last night’s DIY post! I know that crafting is not the main purpose of this blog, but sometimes it’s fun to do something a little different! 🙂

So, let’s back up to yesterday’s adventures!

Chad and I did end up making to Florence for a little shopping! First we hit up Target because I knew that I needed some important things like Clif Kid Z Bars, a new workout tank, and a new (delicious) coffee to try out!

Chad’s not a fan, but I LOVE it! I added just a tiny bit of white chocolate mocha creamer, and it was FAB.

Next, we made a stop for lunch at Subway. I got a 6 inch turkey on wheat with lots of veggies and a bag of apple crisps! 🙂

Then, we hit up the mall. It had been a while since we’d been there, so most of the stores we like had some new stuff out, but I only ended up buying a new pair of skinny jeans. I’m glad I only bought that though, because we went by Hibbett Sports a while later and I bought some knew running shoes! I walked in and asked the guy what the best running shoes were, and he pointed to the Nike Frees. He said that they’re supposed to simulate running barefoot. I was skeptical, but bought them anyway!

After a little more shopping, we decided to head home. Since I was still unsure about my shoe purchase, I decided to go ahead and do my 5K training run to test them out! It felt great outside, so it was good timing. I completed about 2 and 1/2 miles, and the shoes felt awesome! They’re so light and flexible. I can’t wait to run in them all the time now! So, as of yesterday, I’ve finished two weeks of my 5K training, and it’s going really great. I can tell my legs and lungs are getting stronger. Running is actually becoming FUN! gasp!

After my run, I scarfed down a LUNA bar to hold me over until dinner, which ended up being a Boca burger and some Special K crackers… nothing special. But, some late night (low cal) ice cream was enjoyed before bed. 😉

Now, back to today… I was able to sleep in a little longer today since I ran yesterday which is always good. I had a quick breakfast part 1 before church that included 1/4 cup of plain greek yogurt with some raspberry preserves for flavoring.

Part 2 of breakfast happened in between our 8:30 service and Sunday school, and it was a Blueberry Delight Luna bar. Tastes so good!

After church, Chad and I met his parents at an “old timey” restaurant called The Rocking Chair (a lot like a Cracker Barrel) for lunch. I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich (which I only ate 1/2 the bread off of because there was mayo on it. yuck) and an order of green beans.

The rest of the afternoon I’m going to be lazy and do nothing, or I may read a little. I’m excited about tonight though because my aunt is hosting a family dominoes game night. It’s always fun when my dad’s side of the family gets together, so it’ll be an interesting night! Also, The Walking Dead is on again tonight, so I’m anxious for this new episode! (I’ve already got my bag of popcorn ready to be popped for tonight’s viewing!)

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life.

DIY T-shirt to Racerback Food, Family, FUN! (and a new treadmill workout)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

