A New Snack & Giving Up The Scale

February 27, 2012 at 10:25 am 2 comments

Morning everyone! Hope your Monday has started out good! I made sure to start mine off right with a crazy exhausting workout this morning!

I started with this as a warm up…

and then did this leg and abs circuit that had me feeling like a noodle!

I was at the gym for well over an hour with this one. Good thing I don’t work Mondays!

I went for my usual post-workout breakfast as soon as I got home instead of taking a shower first. Don’t worry, I showered after.

And I also just downed 2 large cups of coffee, so I’m ready to go! ๐Ÿ™‚

Rewind to yesterday.

I mentioned thatย  was trying out a new snack creation yesterday. It was very different, but I really enjoyed it!

I blended cottage cheese and pumpkin with some splenda and pumpkin pie spice. When I first heard of this combo, I wanted to gag, but I thought I’d give it a shot. It tasted like pumpkin pie filling!ย Just not as thick. I also hoped that the fiber from the pumpkin and protein from the cottage cheese would keep me full. And it did!!

Equal parts cottage cheese and pumpkin. Pre-blended

Post blended

Poured into bowl

I think next time, I’ll stick it back in the fridge for a few minutes to let it get really cold again and maybe even add just a little cool whip to make it taste even more like pumpkin pie! ๐Ÿ™‚

For dinner, I went with a 6 inch turkey loaded with veggies from Subway.

I took it with me to church and watched the youth play dodge ball. It was pretty entertaining, especially when Chad decided to join in. Let’s all enjoy some awesome iPhone quality action shots of last night’s game.

We ended the night with some popcorn and The Walking Dead! I can’t believe there are only three episodes left this season. It seems so short?

So I know I’m about 5 days late, but Lent started last Wednesday and I had decided to give up my morning Twitter/Facebook/Blog reading time to substitute some devotion/quiet time with God. It’s been going really great, but I felt like I needed to add something else. Some of you may know that I’m a little obsessed with the scale. Sometimes, the scale can even alter my mood for the day. If I’m down, I’m happy. But if the scales goes up (even one pound!) or stays the same, I’m in a bad mood. So I’ve decided to give up the scale! I’m not going to step on it again until after Easter. This is something that’s going to be really hard for me, because I’m used to weighing myself at least once a week. So I’m just going to have to start going by how my clothes feel to measure my progress. I’m not necessarily trying to lose weight, but I am trying to manage and maintain. I”m hoping that with God’s help, I can learn to stay healthy without using the scale as a measure of progress!

What did you give up for Lent, if anything? Any questions or comments on this topic? Just leave them in the comment section or shoot me an email and we’ll talk!

Thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Fruits and Froyo PB&J Smoothie and New Workout Clothes!

2 Comments Add your own

  • […] to prepare for Holy Week and to commemorate the 40 days that Jesus fasted. Last year, I decided to give up the scale and add in a morning devotion time. This year, I’ve decided to give up something that takes up A LOT of my time. I spend most of […]

    Reply
  • 2. Sweet Strides  |  April 9, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    Love the cottage cheese and pumpkin blend idea! I love both and have heard about blending cottage cheese with various mix-ins, and I’m a sucker for anything pumpkin! So I will definitely be trying this out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

