My First Overnight OIAJ Experience!

March 1, 2012 at 9:02 pm 1 comment

Happy Thursday night! 🙂 I’m late blogging tonight, but only because I’ve been going nonstop all day!

Let’s start off with my most recent smoothie! Chocolate Peanut Butter! 🙂 I took this smoothie with me for dinner last night and it did a fantastic job of keeping me full. A little too full actually.

I only recommend making this smoothie if you need to get in a lot of calories for like a dinner or something.

You’ll need:

1 cup plain greek yogurt

2 tbs peanut butter

1 scoop protein powder (or, in my case, I used a packet of chocolate breakfast essentials because I didn’t have protein powder)

1/2 tbs cocoa powder

splash of milk

ice and sweetener of choice

I ended up adding in a handful of spinach for some nutrients. I promise that you cannot taste it!!! 🙂

 

It does turn your smoothie a weird green color though.

Okay, let’s get back to today!

I woke up super early at 5 am to get my run in. I was so glad that I got up that early, because I had plenty of time to shower and eat my AMAZING breakfast I had prepped the night before!

I completed day 2 of week 4 in the Couch to 5K. It was still tough, but felt a little easier than day 1, so hopefully that means I’ve improved!

Breakfast was the star of today’s eats! Last night, I prepped a batch of overnight oats in a jar. This is a breakfast that’s taken over the healthy living blog world, and now I know why. It’s SO GOOD and soooo filling!

First, you’ll need an almost empty jar of peanut butter.

Into the jar goes:

1/3 cup of oats

1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

1/4 cup pumpkin

splash of milk

(optional) water to adjust the thickness

Mix it all up and leave it in the fridge overnight! The next morning, it’s ready eatin’!

                                                                               Demolished

This kept me full until lunchtime, which makes for a very happy school teacher!

The weather was so nice today, that I took my Kindergarteners on a “listening walk” to find different sounds that just so happened to take us outside. 😉

After school, I had an opera musical rehearsal, and I snacked on a Clif Kid Z bar on the way. We had a good rehearsal and got a lot done! I love when I leave a rehearsal feeling more confident about music than I did before!

Dinner

Chad and I went out for Mexican food with my brother and his girlfriend. It was a cute little double date I guess you could say. 😉 I got the chicken fajita taco salad. I’ve been getting this instead of the normal fajita skillet because it seems like there’s less oil in this version. But, who knows? It’s good either way!

And now, I’m about to hop in the bed and get ready to watch the new episode of The Office! Sleep will be happening as soon as it’s over because I have an early morning at the gym tomorrow!

Chad and I will also be taking our youth on a short retreat this weekend, so I may not be posting as much, but I’ll have plenty of stuff to talk about when we get back!

Thanks for reading!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

S’mores Smoothie Pajama Day & My Goals for March

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Eat, Sweat, Sing : FITBLOGGER  |  March 7, 2012 at 6:03 am

    […] musician (though I do have a BS degree is Music Education!). But, I love learning about new foods and creating healthy recipes. I love finding new workouts and pushing myself. I love performing! My […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

