Spring is Here!!

March 20, 2012 at 11:04 am 1 comment

Good morning and happy first day of spring!! 🙂 I started out my morning with a great 3ish mile run! It was day 1 of week 7 in the C25K.

20120320-093231.jpg

20120320-093243.jpg
Now that the weather is warmer, I’m getting so sweaty after my runs. I’m going to have to start finding better running clothes because these tshirts are not so comfy when they’re drenched in sweat!

After my run, I had a batch of overnight oats in a jar waiting on me in the fridge! This jar had 1/3 cup of oats, 1/4 cup of vanilla yogurt, 1/2 cup of pumpkin, and whatever was left in the almond butter jar. It was delish! 🙂

20120320-093929.jpg

Yesterday, I talked about my NROLFA workout but didn’t give many details, so I thought I’d explain it a little further. Basically, there are 3 phases in the NROLFA that take anywhere from 4-6 weeks each to complete. Phase 1 incorporates 3 different parts to each workout. 1. A dynamic warm up which includes a lot of different exercises and moves to loosen the joints and literally warm up your body. This takes about 10 minutes. 2. Core work, which uses moves that specifically makes your core muscles work to keep your spine in place. So this means there are no crunches or sit up, but plenty of planks. 3. Strength, which gives you different strength training moves that work other muscles but that also continue to work the core even though you don’t realize it. Each phase has two workouts (A and B) that you do on alternating days with one full day of rest in between. Yesterday I completed workout A, today is my “rest” day, and I used it to run, and tomorrow I will do workout B. So that means Thursday will be another rest day and Friday I’ll go back to workout A.

I’m not going to share exactly what the workouts look like because 1. I’m too lazy to type it all out 😉 and 2. It wouldn’t be fair for me to give you all the workouts from the book with out you buying it first! Plus, I wouldn’t want you guys to try all the workouts without knowing why or how to do them. But when I’m finished with this program, I’d be happy to lend the book to anyone who wanted to try it! 🙂

Well I’ve rambled on long enough, and it’s time for me to get started with my day! I’ve got a long rehearsal later today, so I have to get my to-do list done before I leave.

Thanks for reading and have a wonderful Tuesday!!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life.

Weekend Fun and NROLFA WIAW and a Hair Experiment

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. I have two words… | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  March 26, 2012 at 10:07 am

    […] well, it’s SPRING BREAK and I’m not waking up at 5 am! I am still continuing the NROLFA though, so I’m probably going around 11 so that I can have a good lunch when I get home to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

