I’m Baaaaaack!

May 15, 2012 at 10:35 am 1 comment

Hello hello everyone! So sorry for the (almost) 2 week absence. I kept telling myself that I was going to write, but I would always find something else to do. I think it’s affected my motivation though because I’ve been skipping workouts and eating like crazy the past few weeks! So I knew I had to get back into my normal routine so I can get back to eating healthy and exercising again.

What you’ve missed

I’ve still been running almost every other day. I’m getting ready for a 5 mile race at the end of June, but my main goal is training for my first 1/2 marathon in October!! Knowing that I’m going to have to run 13.1 miles is giving me the runspiration that I need! Here I am with Chad after running 4 miles. See how I look happy and he looks… well, not? He wishes he could run with me. πŸ˜‰

There is a down side to all the running I’ve been doing though. I’ve developed some wonderful shin splints. 😦 I think it’s because I’ve started running more than 3 miles, and my Nike Frees aren’t very good for the longer distances. So I will be buying new shoes very soon! I just have to figure out which ones to buy. Any suggestions from other runner out there?? I’m looking into some Brooks, but don’t know what would be best.

Even though I’ve been eating tons of junk food, I’ve also been eating veggies like crazy! My lunches usually include two different veggies and dinner always has a serving of them too! The ones I’ve been enjoying lately are baby carrots, sugar snap peas, squash, zucchini, and asparagus. For lunch I eat them raw, but for dinner I usually saute them in some olive oil, garlic salt, and a tiny bit of parmesan cheese. YUM!

I finished my part time teaching job last week! Now I just have to wait and see if I get to come back next school year. I desperately hope so because I absolutely love teaching at GWT! πŸ™‚ On my last day, one of my students gave me this super cute pencil decoration made out of burlap (I think). Her mom made it, and I hung it up behind my desk before I left.

Mother’s day was spent with my family during lunch and then with Chad’s family later in the afternoon. I made some special Mother’s Day cupcakes to take to both our moms! πŸ™‚ Dark chocolate cupcakes with white chocolate pudding/cool whip icing.

On the days that I actually do go to the gym, my workouts have been kind of random. But today, I was back to using my favorite app to get in a great strength session. First though, I spent 20 very sweaty minutes on the elliptical (because of my shin splints, I’m avoiding the treadmill) doing this hill workout from Julie!

My strength circuit looked like this…

I prepped some overnight OIAJ last night, so breakfast was easy for me. I made Chad some eggs and toast, and we enjoyed our morning out on the deck.Β I had the towel there because the table was wet. Not that you care. πŸ˜‰

Yesterday, I spent the entire morning cleaning the house, so that means there’s not much house work to do today, but I do have to go get my license renewed and get my name changed on my passport. I need all the proper identification for mine and Chad’s anniversary cruise next week!!!! πŸ™‚ T-5 days and counting! πŸ™‚

I’ve also got a teacher appreciation lunch this afternoon at 1:00, and Chad and I are going grocery shopping sometime before then. It’s a busy day over here!

I’m glad to be back in the blogging world again and plan on staying! πŸ™‚

Have a great Tuesday!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Random, Running.

May Goals! WIAW Fail

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

