On the Road Again

May 31, 2012 at 10:25 pm 2 comments

Hey friends! Sorry to be MIA today, but I just got so caught up doing stuff that I never got around to posting! I also forgot that Chad and I were going out of town to Birmingham for the weekend and had to leave tonight! Haha we’re actually on the road now, and typing this on my iPad. Anyway, just because we’re traveling doesn’t mean I can’t fill you in on the day! ๐Ÿ™‚

Breakfast
I tried a new kind of oatmeal creation that I saw on Katie’s blog. Frappuccino oatmeal! I decided to add a little cocoa powder and turn in into a mocha frappuccino flavor. And what’s a frappuccino without cool whip on top? Light cool whip of course ๐Ÿ˜‰

20120531-205631.jpg
It was good, but pretty rich since I added the cocoa. I might try the normal version next time!

I let breakfast digest for about an hour and a half and then went out to tackle a 3 mile run. I was actually hoping to run more than 3, but my knee and leg pains were pretty bad, so I started walking at mile 4. I figured I’d walk the rest of that mile, and then run mile 5 back home. So that’s what I did! ๐Ÿ™‚

20120531-210149.jpg

I jumped in the pool when I got back from my run to cool me off (jealous? ;)) and then showered before snacking on an apple. This is where I made my mistake. You see, I didn’t wait long enough before I ate for my stomach to settle from the run, so about 30 minutes later I was so nauseous I could barely move. I laid down until Chad came home for lunch and, when I felt better, fixed myself something.
Lunch
Nothing exciting for lunch today, just a boca burger, baby carrots, and string cheese.

20120531-210620.jpg
It really hit the spot and made me feel much better! ๐Ÿ™‚

I felt so good that I went on over to Dick’s to do a little shopping! ๐Ÿ˜‰

20120531-210846.jpg
As I mentioned above, I’ve been having bad knee and leg pains during my runs, and I think my Nike Frees just don’t have the cushion I need for longer runs. So, enter in my new Brooks Ravennas! I tried these on and liked the feel a lot better than the Adrenaline, which is what I had been considering. I’m hoping these will do the job! ๐Ÿ™‚

When I got home, I started packing for our trip which is really just for Chad, I’m just tagging along. It’s a United Methodist conference and Chad will be getting his pastors license! Proud. ๐Ÿ™‚
After packing, I got to work on dinner. We snacked on some cucumber slices while dinner cooked.

20120531-211808.jpg

Dinner
On the menu for dinner, was a lightened up spaghetti with meat sauce.

20120531-211908.jpg

Then it was time to hit the road! We took the doggies to my parents and drove off to Birmingham, making a necessary ice cream pit stop half way through. ๐Ÿ˜‰

20120531-212118.jpg

Well, it’s off to bed because we’re hoping to get up early for a little workout at the hotel gym before his first session in the morning! G’night! ๐Ÿ™‚

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running, Travel.

Kitchen Magic Adventures in Birmingham

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy  |  June 1, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Ice cream stops are always necessary on road trips :).

    Reply
  • 2. Rough Night | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  June 12, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    […] other news, I ordered another pair of running shoes yesterday only a week and a half after buying my Brooks.ย You see, I have this crazyย theory that there is a perfect shoe out there for me, and my Brooks […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

