Adventures in Birmingham

June 1, 2012 at 8:49 pm 1 comment

Evening folks! I have a whole day of activities to share with you! πŸ™‚

Workout
Chad and I woke up at 5:30 to do shoulders and back, but as I was getting dressed, he realized that he forgot his shoes, so he went back to sleep. I however, was dressed and ready to workout! So I went by myself to the hotel gym, which was not what I hoped it would be.

20120601-190026.jpg
Just some treadmills and free weights. I could only do a few of the exercises, but anything’s better than nothing! πŸ™‚
I did 4 sets of 12 reps of the following…
-side laterals
-front laterals
-shoulder press
-shrugs
-one arm rows
-bent over rows

Breakfast
After my workout, Chad met me for the continental breakfast. Not a lot of options, but I made do with a yogurt parfait and a small bowl of melon.

20120601-190751.jpg
Chad and I also split a piece of whole grain toast.

After breakfast I had to drop Chad off at Birmingham Southern College for his conference. Then I had some grand plans for my morning…

20120601-191020.jpg
Yes yes yes! My first ever trip to Whole Foods! πŸ™‚
I wanted everything I the store! But since we’re staying in a hotel, I couldn’t stock up on all the good stuff. 😦 I just browsed around and picked some things that I’ve been wanting but can’t find at home. Here’s the loot!

20120601-191422.jpg
Better’n Peanut Butter, some yummy looking pumpkin butter, a pack of Justin’s maple almond butter, the honey graham flavor Kid Z bars, and the peanut butter cookie flavor Luna!

20120601-191657.jpg
Blood Orange Chobani (been looking everywhere for this!) and Arctic Zero ice cream for me and Chad to split tonight. πŸ™‚

20120601-191841.jpg
Cream Soda Zevia for me and Chad!!

I so wish I could have gotten more stuff! I guess we’ll have to make another trip here and bring a cooler for all the cold stuff. πŸ˜‰

I did some shopping at Old Navy until it was time to pick Chad up for lunch. We decided to try McAlister’s because we figured there’d be some healthy options. I went with the deli corned beef on rye with fruit.

20120601-192357.jpg
I ate half and saved the other.

I took Chad back to BSC around 2:00, and then drove over to Brookwood Village to look around and do some more shopping! I got a few goodies and then went back to get Chad yet again. I swear I did more driving than anything else today.

Dinner
Traffic was terrible, so we stayed close to our hotel for dinner and went to Chili’s. Hello chicken fajita!

20120601-193425.jpg
Just the skillet for me! This doesn’t compare to fajitas from a Mexican restaurant, but it’ll do.

We’re back at the hotel now, sippin’ on Zevia and about to split our pint of ice cream. I’ve got an early wake up call in the morning at 5 am so I can get 5 miles in before I have to take Chad to BSC again. Let’s hope I actual get up for this! πŸ˜‰

Have a great night everyone!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Travel.

On the Road Again Back Home!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

