The Run That Almost Wasn’t

June 14, 2012 at 7:41 pm Leave a comment

This is the (sweaty) face of accomplishment.

Okay, so lets hope that’s not really true because if so, we’re all in trouble.

But that IS the face of someone who just pushed herself through a very painful run, which is an accomplishment!

I’ll explain…

I laced up this afternoon to knock out my 3 miles. I had my new shoes on and was ready to go! Literally, the very second I started running, I felt a sharp shooting pain in my let hip. (Possibly IT band??) I stopped for a second, stretched my leg, and tried to keep going. Nope. So I started walking and was feeling extremely frustrated. I didn’t want to injure myself, but for some reason the thought of not finishing this run made me really mad. So as I rounded the corner to head back towards my house, I started running again. It hurt, a lot. But then, slowly the pain started to ease, and by the time I got to my house, it was almost gone. So I didn’t stop! I kept going past my house and didn’t stop running until I finished 3 miles. The pain came and went a little, but I pushed myself and got through it!

I couldn’t understand what happened at first, and then I remembered I was wearing my Mizunos, and it hit me…..

I have magic shoes.

*Cue angelic music*

Yep. My Mizunos are magic shoes that make pain go away.

So that’s the story of the run that almost wasn’t.

While I’ve got you here, let me show you my awesome dinner!!

Like I said, when Chad’s away I eat the most random things!

In the mix is some sauteed zucchini, squash, and brussels sprouts. On top is a crumbled Boca burger, tomato sauce, and fat free mozzarella cheese.

There were so many flavors and textures in this bowls, and it was so tasty! Here’s what it looked like after I mixed it all up…

Not as pretty as the first picture, but just as good!

Well, I’m off to enjoy the rest of the evening! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running.

Do You Know What Today Is?? Five Things {for me} Friday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

