What A Week

June 23, 2012 at 9:51 pm 1 comment

You can read about why I’ve been away from the blog world in this post!

The last time I posted, I was planning on riding down to Panama City Monday morning with my mom so that she could bring me back home on Wednesday morning. On the way down, I was feeling so bummed about not getting to stay for the whole trip, so just for kicks I started looking at flights into pcb. I just so happened to find an extremely cheap flight from Nashville, so I booked it right then and there! I know I’m crazy, but I really felt like I needed to go back so I could help Chad for the rest of the week. It was completely worth it! It was such an amazing week with all the youth and SO much fun!

When we got back on Friday, Chad and I unpacked and went to grab some dinner at Casa. Afterwards, I felt like I needed to get in some carbs and sugar in preparation for the 5 mile race I had the next morning. So we went to our favorite bakery for some cupcakes! I had two. TWO. It was awesome. I’m definitely making it a pre-race tradition. 😉

I woke up this morning (race day) and had an english muffin, half with peanut butter and half with a wedge of laughing cow cinnamon cream cheese plus a cup of coffee. I felt really good and was ready to run! I give credit to the cupcakes.

The race was great! I felt so good through out the entire race… until about the last half a mile, but that’s only because I picked up my speed quite a bit to finish faster. I’m glad I did though, because I finished in 53:29 which put me 2nd in my age group! Yay! 🙂

Chad got a pretty bad picture of me finishing, but here ya go. 😉

I was pretty pumped about my time! Even though my phone’s GPS said that I finished 5 miles in 50:40.

As I was waiting around after the race, my aunt found me and convinced me to run the mile run with her. I would have had 6 miles to run today anyway if I hadn’t had a race, so I thought why not? We ran a good 9 minute mile and once again, I felt really good! It was a great day to run! 🙂

I spent the rest of the day resting and hanging out with Chad. It’s been a super long and tiring week, so we didn’t feel like doing anything.

I’m ready to get back to my normal routine, but I only have about a week to do it because we’re going back to the beach next week with my family. This will be a very restful trip though, so I’m excited to get away again.

Regularly scheduled posts should be back up tomorrow! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running, Travel.

A Little Miscommunication Let the rain come down…..

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

