Thursday Thoughts {Motivation}

June 28, 2012 at 10:38 am 4 comments

Let’s talk about motivation!

What kinds of things motivate you to be healthy?? Motivation (IMO) is a HUGE factor in having success with your weight-loss/fitness/health goals. I thought I’d share with you some of my biggest fitness and health motivators! 🙂

When it comes to running and working out in general, I have a few key motivators that really keep me on top of my game…

1. Quality (and cute!) workout clothes/equipment. Everytime I buy new dry-fit shirts, tempo shorts, or even a new headband, I get really excited to workout! Knowing that I’m going to look cute while running or going to the gym really motivates me to actually GO! It may be a silly reason, but it works for me. 😉

2. Wear your gym clothes to bed! When I know I’m going to have to get up super early for a run or for the gym, I always wear my gym clothes to bed. That way, all I have to do is roll out of bed, put my shoes on, my hair up, and walk out the door.

3. Sign up for a race or competition. If you have something that you’re working towards and you’ve already signed up, then there’s no turning back and you know that you have to keep training! This is why I sign up for races really early. Knowing that I have to run 13.1 miles in less than 4 months motivates me to keep up with my running schedule so that I don’t fall behind. If you’re not in to running, go out on a limb and sign up for something else. Bikini competition???? haha But serisouly, if you know that you’ll have to walk out on stage in a bikini in a few months, you’ll definitely be motivated to keep working out! 😉

4. Get support from your friends and family. Tell people what you’re doing so that they can help keep you accountable and support you! Chad is a HUGE support system for me and always reminds me that I’m beautiful even when I’m not feeling great about myself. My family is also a major support system. In my last race I was running up a street that’s close to my house when I looked over and saw my mom and dad standing there cheering me on! They may not have realized it, but it gave me so much motivation to keep running! Little things like support with always keep you going. 🙂

What about EATING healthy?? Sometimes it’s harder to stay on track with healthy eating than it is to keep up your fitness routine. Here are some of the things that motivate me to eat healthier…

1. Find healthy foods that you LOVE and keep your kitchen stocked with them! There’s so many healthy foods that I love, and as long as I keep them in my kitchen, I have no problem grabbing those foods over something unhealthy. Some of my favorite healthy foods include:

Sweet potatoes, cucumbers w/hummus, fresh berries, greek yogurt, almond butter, Luna and Lara bars, eggs, oatmeal, zucchini, squash, asparagus, spinach, almonds, and the list can go on and on! Here’s my lunch from yesterday that included a leftover pork chop plus TONS of my favorite healthy foods!

2. Try new foods! Don’t be afraid to try something that’s new to you because you never know if you’ll like it or not! I never thought I’d like almond milk until I bought it for a special recipe and tried it by itself. Now I use it in place of milk! Another example is my breakfast this morning. I almost always have either an omelet or oatmeal for breakfast, but sometimes that gets old. So I tried something new with my eggs and made a scramble using spinach and a wedge of laughing cow garlic and herb cheese. So delicious! On the side is a piece of whole grain toast with almond butter.

3. DON’T STARVE YOURSELF. First of all, how you stay motivated if you wake up and know that you’re going to be miserable all day because of hunger??? This is just a recipe for disaster. I see this so often and used to be guilty of it too! If you’re eating less than 1000 calories a day, STOP IT! You’re body can’t function properly. Yes you might be losing weight… for now. But what happens when you finally reach your goal and go back to eating more? You’re body is going to FREAK OUT and store everything you eat as fat. Trust me, I’ve been down that road over and over and over. They key is to make eating healthy part of your life. If you do that plus stay active and workout, you’ll be amazed at what happens! Right now, I’m eating around 1470 calories per day, but only because I’m trying to lose a few pounds. If I wanted to maintain my weight, I’d be eating closer to 2,000 calories a day!

4. Plan for treats throughout the week. This is big one! I’m so much more motivated to stay healthy when I know that I get to have froyo on Friday night, or if I have a date night planned with Chad on Saturday. These treats also sometiems shock your body and boost your metabolism which eventaully helps your lose more weight! Isn’t it awesome? 🙂

5. Progress. I think this works for everyone. When I see that I’m making progress in losing wieght, or running, or lifting wieghts, I get so motivated to keep going! The more progress I see, the more motivated I get! Like placing 2nd in the 5 mile race last week! 🙂

All of these things I listed are awesome ways to stay motivated. But, I think that my number one motivator for living a healthy lifestyle is that no matter what you do or what happens to you, always make sure that you are happy. Nothing is worth losing your happiness! It’s taken me a long time to finally be happy with my healthy lifestyle. I went through years of starving myself, binging, starving myself, binging, and hating what I saw in the mirror. It wasn’t until I made the desicion to stop DIEting and to start living my life in a healthy way. It’s made a tremendous difference in my life, and even though I still go through times where I don’t feel “skinny” enough, or fast enough, or strong enough, I know that I am in am uch better place than I was this time last year. 🙂

I hope this helped you in some way! Please please please leave a comment or email me if you have any questions or  just want to talk! Have a great day. 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Helpful, Life.

WIAW {& Muscles!} I Mustache You A Question {7 miles!}

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith @ For the Health of It  |  June 28, 2012 at 10:52 am

    New workout clothes are so the best motivator ever! Looking cute and feeling legit makes it easier to get out there 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  June 28, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Good advice! I am the same way about new workout clothes too!

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. TBB  |  June 28, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    Grace you are so right about switching to a healthy lifestyle! I too have been on and off diets probably since I can remember! But since I decided to be healthy instead of “losing weight” I have lost thirty pounds and hoping to lose thirty more. My motivators are “getting to buy new clothes” and “my energy factor” I have way more of it when I eat right and exercise I also just in general am proud of myself! I hate working out, so when I actually do it I’m not afraid to pat myself on the back! Also I LOVE finding new ways to incorporate new healthy foods and healthy substituitions for my old bad eating habits-that way I don’t feel deprived. Anyway, I think this post makes up for all my blog stalking! Btw I’ve now gone from vegetarian to vegan AND cut out all artificial sweeteners and high fructose corn syrup, and have ditched coffee for green tea. YIKES!

    Reply
    • 4. gkennington  |  June 28, 2012 at 5:52 pm

      I love this!! 🙂 Thanks for being my blog stalker! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

