Back At It!

July 7, 2012 at 6:10 pm Leave a comment

After a week of being at the beach, eating tons of junk food, and only working out ONE day (which was a 3 mile run), I was SO ready to get back to a healthy routine!

Last night Chad and I stayed over at my parents’ house to watch over their dogs, and we brought our fur babies with us. It was like a huge doggie slumber party… minus the slumber part for me and Chad. It was probably one of the worst night’s sleep I’ve ever gotten, and Chad said the same for him. All four dogs slept in the bed, which made it really hot! Plus they woke me up 3 or 4 times throughout the night barking at ridiculous things.

So when my alarm went off at 5:30 this morning for my scheduled 7 mile run, I turned that sucker off and went right back to sleep! There was no way I was rested enough to knock out 7 miles this morning. We slept until 7:30, then said bye to the pups and walked next door to our house to make some breakfast.

I’m telling you, these Kodiak Cakes are becoming a breakfast favorite around here! Mine are topped with some apple butter and sugar free maple syrup.

After breakfast, we lounged around drinking coffee until I felt like breakfast was digested enough for my run. This ended up being about 2 and 1/2 hours later, so those pancakes really keep you full!

I decided to run at the gym since it was already 84 degrees outside. I took my iPad with me and got in my 7 miles while watching Rio. Silly I know, but I love that movie!

The reason it only says 5 miles on it is because at mile 2, I accidentally pulled the emergency cord which stopped the treadmill. So I had to restart, but it started my mileage over too. 😦 So even though it says 5.18, I definitely ran 7!

When I got home, it was lunch time, but I never seem to be very hungry after a long run. It forever for me to even think about anything other than water! I made the only thing my stomach could handle at the time. A cold refreshing smoothie!

This mix has frozen strawberries, almond milk, and a scoop of cookies and cream protein powder.

This afternoon, Chad went to play golf while I had the privilege of going grocery shopping. Yeah. But at least it’s done and our house is stocked with yummy food again!

I’ve got sweet potatoes cooking in the oven, veggies ready to be roasted, and chicken seasoned and ready for the grill. And I’m ready for dinner!

Have a great night! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running.

Wordless Week {Family Beach Vacation} It’s Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

