Three F’s for Fitness

July 9, 2012 at 1:57 pm 2 comments

FitnessPal, Fitbit, Fitmixer

These are the three things that I’m using right now to help me reach my goal of losing weight/fat and building lean muscle (so I can burn even more fat!).

Most of you know about the MyFitnessPal app and website. I’ve been using it for almost a year now to help with my weight-loss efforts. I still love it! Recently I purchased a Fitbit, which is a little clip-on device that tracks your steps, calories burned, floors climbed, activity level, and even sleep quality!

You can also sync it to your FitnessPal app, and it will automatically adjust your calories for the day based on your activity level.

My latest health/fitness adventure is now with Fitmixer.

As of now, I’m only using the free nutrition plan sent to me from the site, but I hopefully plan on joining the bootcamp that starts up in September! Based on the information I gave, the nutrition plan gives me a detailed look at the amount of carbs, fat, and protein I need to eat. The plan also uses the Fitmixer regular protein shakes and slim shakes throughout, but since I haven’t bought them, I’m going to substitute the protein powder I already have at home. When the bootcamp rolls around though, I’ll probably buy some of the products. (Mostly I’m thinking of the fitmixer amino mix) I’m really excited to give this plan a try because counting calories can only get you so far!

*******

This morning’s workout was a great way to kick-start me back into reality after a week at the beach! It was a LEGS morning, but this workout was different than the ones in the past. Usually our legs workout is 4 sets of 15 reps of presses, extensions, squats, curls, and lunges. Today we did drop sets (low weight/ high reps).

2 sets of 100 leg presses

3 sets of 50 extensions

3 sets of 50 curls

That’s it. But ERMERGERD my legs were on fiyah! The worst was probably getting through the 100 presses. As soon as I walked in the door, I went straight for this stuff…

A scoop of chocolate peanut butter in some almond milk to refuel the muscles!

Then I got to work on real food.

A mostly egg white omelet with spinach and ff mozzarella cheese.

I was chugging water like crazy this morning because, according to my nutrition plan, I need 8 16oz. bottles of water per day. I’m hoping I can get through 5 rounds of my 24 oz camelbak bottle.

Around 10:00, it was snack time! I needed 5-8 grams of protein for this one, so I went with a pack of almonds and baby carrots.

But this only gave me 4 grams. :/ At least it’s something!

After spending some time working on music for my lesson and the opera in the fall, it was lunch time! My lunch is supposed to be around 400 calories and 29 grams of protein.

I went with a cucumber, turkey, and spinach sandwich with a little mustard. The rest of the cucumber I had on the side with a tablespoon of hummus. Along side that was an apple and a peach Chobani. I ended up putting the apple back because I was so full, but I still hit the protein mark exactly. 29 grams! 14g came from the yogurt alone! Surely this will hold me over for a lonnnng time and I wont need a snack until late in the afternoon.

I’ve been feeling a little under the weather today complete with a head ache, dizziness, congestion, plus a runny nose. YAY! *Said no one ever*

I just chugged some water with 2 daytime sinus pills to hopefully get rid of this funk. Speaking of water, I’m close to half way through my water goal for today! ๐Ÿ™‚

Chad also informed me, before he left to go back to work after lunch, that I have to clean the house today because I haven’t done anything productive. Uhhhhh hello?? I got through 64 oz of water, sang some songs, worked on my blog, AND took the dogs out once!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I guess I’ll go get on that cleaning……

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Helpful, Life.

It’s Sunday! So. Much. Protein.

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

