Getting Better

July 16, 2012 at 2:51 pm 3 comments

This weekend was so much fun and filled with lots of activities, yet I have zero pictures to prove it. Sometimes you just have to put the camera iPhone down and enjoy the moment instead of trying to get good material for your blog.

The weekend’s activities started on Saturday with an awesome early morning 7 mile run, a day at Point Mallard water park with our youth, a night out to eat with friends, then finishing up at our house with movies and games.

Sunday consisted of a morning spent at church, a huge grocery trip (which is never actually fun, but I love having my kitchen stocked at the beginning of a new week), an afternoon nap, and another evening with our youthies for a swim party. We love the water. 🙂

Over the weekend, I decided that since my eyesight has been pretty wonky, I would try wearing my glasses for a few days to see if it helped.

I kept those glasses on for a total of 10 minutes. I’d rather see blurs all day.

Okay new subject… Every Monday, I tell myself that this is the week I’m going to get tons of lesson plans done and be completely ready for the start of the school year. Then Friday gets here and I’ve done nothing! Well, not nothing, but definitely not as much as I’d like to get done. So I’m proclaiming it to the world and not just to myself…

I WILL GET THINGS DONE THIS WEEK! 🙂

Starting with an intense leg workout with husband this morning.

2 sets of 100 leg presses

3 sets of 50 extensions

3 sets of 50 curls

This is the last week of drop sets, so next week we’ll be bringing back squats and lunges. BLEH

BREAKFAST

Refueling with a protein shake!

Egg white omelet! YAY PROTEIN! 🙂

I actually did things throughout the morning so that I could say I was productive and then around 10 had a quick snack to hold me over until lunch.

This is a mini version of the original snicker’s marathon bars. It’s got 5 grams of protein, which isn’t a lot, but it’s better than nothing.

I actually worked on lesson plans for school for the rest of the morning (YAY ME!) and then made some lunch around 12:00.

My favorite salad with chicken and an apple cinnamon Chobani.

I love this salad so much, and when I got down to the last little bit, I wanted to make it the best bite ever. So I loaded my fork up with all the rest…

I will cherish that bite forever.

I ran some errands after lunch, and then I don’t know what came over me, but I came home and plowed through even more work! I’ve completed outlined the entire first semester(and half of the second) for my 3rd grade classes. Now I’ve just got to get that far with K-2nd grade and I’ll be set!

I’ve also planned out dinners and workouts for the week on our refrigerator menu.

I’m going to start incorporating speed and hill work during my weekday runs and also add in some core work two days a week because I’ve been neglecting my poor abs a lot lately.

I’d say I’m getting better at being productive wouldn’t you agree??

Off to do some more work! Have a MARVELOUS MONDAY! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running.

14 Productive Things Pizza and a Hot Run

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly J  |  July 16, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    You have been most definitely productive!! 2 sets of 100 leg presses???? You go girl! I’m glad if I can just do 30, lol.

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  July 16, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      It was TOUGH, but we did really low weight. There’s no way I could do 100 with my regular weight! haha

      Reply
      • 3. Holly J  |  July 16, 2012 at 3:40 pm

        I’m a recent lifting convert. I’ve always known it was important, but since I gain muscle really easily I’ve avoided it like the plague. I do low weights too (really low, lol). The only time I can lift heavy is when I’m working my abs.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

