Pizza and a Hot Run

July 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm Leave a comment

The other day while grocery shopping, I found Mama Mary’s whole wheat pizza crust with really good nutrition stats.

All the pizza crusts that I’ve looked at before weren’t very good, so I’ve never bought one, until Sunday! I decided to put it to use last night and made “homemade” pizza for dinner.

1 whole wheat pizza crust

1 package fat free turkey pepperoni

1 package fat free shredded mozzarella cheese

1 cup of tomato sauce

1 tbs each of Italian seasoning, basil, and oregano

A handful of mushrooms. Yep. A handful. 😉

It’s pretty easy to figure out how to put this pizza together, but you spray the crust with little cooking spray. Spread the tomato sauce (mixed with the seasonings). Sprinkle on the cheese. Place the pepperonis and mushrooms all around. Bake as directed on the crust package. Easy peasy.

Cut into 6 slices to make a serving of around 215 calories.

I had one slice and then toasted an English muffin and sprinkled it with garlic salt, Italian seasoning and parm. I swear it tasted like garlic bread!

*******

This morning, after taking my precious time getting out of bed, I made a protein packed breakfast.

3/4 a cup of plain 0% Chobani (17.5 grams of protein!), a little vanilla and splenda, chopped gala apple, cinnamon, and a tbs of almond butter. I LOVED this breakfast. Sometimes I like plain Chobani even better than the flavored ones!

After a cup of coffee and some blog/email reading, I went out for a run. I had some speed work on the schedule today, so I went to the local track.

Ran the <1 mile distance from my house to the track to warm up.

Sprinted the straights and jogged the curves for 1 mile.

Walked a lap to cool down.

Ran back home (with a pit stop at the church for some water).

It took longer than expected because I ended up walking a lot on my way back home. The heat was really getting to me, and I thought I might actually throw up at one point. Oh well, they can’t all be good runs.

Protein shake to recover!

It took my body SO LONG to finally cool down after that run. I was sweating long after my COLD shower until about lunch time.

Lunch

Leftover pizza from last night, carrots to get some veggies in, and vanilla Oikos for some more protein!

Going back outside anymore today sounds completely terrible to me, so hopefully I’ll be spending the afternoon getting lots of work done INSIDE! 😉

Have a great day!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Recipes, Running.

Getting Better Coffee Hater???

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

