My BIG Decision

July 24, 2012 at 10:17 am 3 comments

Remember this post??

This is when I talked about making a big decision based of God’s plan for my life. Sometimes God will tell you something that you really don’t want to hear, but you know that you should follow Him because, well, He’s God and knows what’s best for you. We all have to do things that we don’t want to do. I think everyone knows this, but when you’re faced with having to actually make a really difficult decision, it’s harder to follow that advice.

After writing last week’s post, I knew that I had to bite the bullet and just go through with this. And, so I’m finally going to tell you guys what it was that I was asking you to pray about.

I’ve decided not to continue getting my master’s degree in education, and here’s why…

When I graduated in December 2011, I decided to continue my studies and pursue a masters degree in music education. The only reason I chose that degree is because my university doesn’t offer any other music related graduate programs. When the spring semester started, I was only taking two classes, Opera/Musical Theater Workshop and a voice lesson. This worked out well because I worked 3 days a week teaching, and the other two days I devoted to learning music for my lesson and my role in the opera Hansel and Gretel.

The truth is, these were the only classes I was really interested in taking. The degree I was pursuing though, required many education courses and some other music courses, but didn’t even include the opera class I was taking. I just kept telling myself, “I’ll sign up for the education courses in the summer, or next semester.” When it came time to sign up for classes again, I didn’t put a single education course in my schedule. Once again, I planned on taking voice and opera. Deep down I knew that a master’s in education is not what I wanted or needed. My true passion is in vocal performance/general music, but since UNA doesn’t offer those programs, I’m out of luck. So basically, I was going to spend a lot of money to take graduate level classes that would not have counted towards my master’s degree. Silly? Yes. But that’s how much I love singing and performing.

I could tell that God was trying to tell me something, even during the spring semester when everything seemed to be going well, but I didn’t want to listen. Just over the past couple of months, I really started listening and knew that I was going to have to give this up to Him.

So that’s where last Thursday’s post came into play. I wrote it hoping to vent a little and get some advice and prayers. It worked in a way I wasn’t expecting. I got a message from my AMAZING professor, encouraging me to do what’s best for me and assuring me that I wouldn’t be disappointing anyone. It was the greatest message I had ever gotten! 🙂 I felt so happy and relieved and knew that I was making the right choice. I felt a rush of excitement knowing that I was following God’s plan and that only good things could result in this situation.

So there it is. My big decision. Probably not as big as you were thinking, but it was definitely a huge decision for me. The good thing is, I know that this is NOT the end of my studies. I fully plan on returning to school in the future to pursue a degree in voice/performance. Some how, some way, I know it will happen. I just have a feeling. 😉

But for now, I’m going to enjoy this time away and commit fully to my job, to my husband, and most importantly to GOD!

Thank you to everyone who’s supported me and prayed for me. You guys rock!
And a special thank you to the Browns for everything you both have done for me. I’ll be back SOON! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Entry filed under: Helpful, Life, Random.

3 Weeks Left WIAW is back!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly J  |  July 25, 2012 at 9:05 am

    That’s a big decision. I’m glad you prayed about it. I got some pressure to go get my Masters in English when I was finishing up school, but my heart has always been in writing. I actually didn’t even want to pursue journalism at first, just because of the competition and being told what I had to write about. But like you, I had this feeling. And after a series of events I saw I was on the right track. It seems like you are on the right track too!!

    Oh, and I nominated you for the Liebster award in my post for today! Congrats!!

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  July 25, 2012 at 11:02 am

      It’s such a relief to know that you’ve made the right decisions and are on the right path! Thanks again for the nomination! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy  |  July 27, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    I’m glad that you feel at peace with your decision!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

