Olympics and My Worst Run

July 28, 2012 at 2:03 pm 8 comments

Chad and I had an afternoon date to the movies yesterday. I’m officially the lamest person in the world since I don’t want to go to the movies at night because I’m afraid I’ll get too sleepy. 😉

We were really excited to see The Dark Knight Rises because we loved the first two movies in the trilogy so much! Well, to be honest, I was a little hesitant because I knew it was close to a 3 hour movie, and I’m not a fan of sitting still for 3 hours. But this movie really flew by and was so so so so good! I wont spoil it for any one out there who hasn’t seen it yet (what’s wrong with you??), but the ending was just amazing and brilliant and I was super pleased!

After the movie, we came home and I got to work on dinner.

I put sweet potatoes in the crock-pot before we left for the movies, then came home and cooked up a quick chicken stir-fry with some green beans on the side.

I parked myself on the couch for the rest of the night in honor of the Olympic Opening Ceremonies! I read a lot of different opinions about the ceremonies on FB and Twitter. It seems that many people were confused/disappointed. I guess everyone expected the same or better than the ceremonies in Beijing?

I on the other hand, LOVED IT!! Why you ask??

GIANT VOLDEMORT.

Defeated by none other than….

Hundreds of Mary Poppinses.

It was amazing.

*******

This morning I woke up with intentions to run 8 miles. I knew that wasn’t going to happen within 1 minute of my run. My right knee, which has been bothering me for months, started hurting as soon I started to run. Plus, the new water bottle I had in my runners belt was flopping up and down so much that I had to hold through out the entire run. To top it all off, my legs felt completely and utterly DEAD. I was already lacking motivation before I started, so this series of unfortunate events just made my run horrible. I decided around mile 2 that I was going to go 5 miles and be done with it. I ended up walking a lot, which is usually something I never do in a run that’s 6 miles or less. When I got home, I felt disappointed and guilty that I didn’t get 8 miles in and that I couldn’t even pull off a really good 5 miler! 😦 I know everyone has bad runs, but I just couldn’t get over this one. Then I saw Lindsay’s post and found this.

Such a great quote that made me feel a lot better! 🙂

I was starving after my shower, so I made some “protein” pancakes using my Kodiak cake mix and adding in a scoop of protein powder. It worked perfectly!

Topped with almond butter and sugar free syrup

*******

Today, Chad and I are basically on house arrest because of a problem with our Comcast box. We have to be available at home for the entire day so that a guy can come to our house to fix it. The problem is, no one knows when a Comcast agent will be able to come over, so we have to be ready all day.

No problem though, because I have a pretty good setup over here. 😉

Olympics on the TV and on both of our iPads! We love the Olympics!! I’m SO glad we found the Olympics live app because now, no matter where I am on August 5th, I can watch the women’s marathon!!! 🙂

Lunch

This one is pretty random

Boca burger on a whole wheat bun, cucumber, hard boiled egg, and an unpictured Blueberry Chobani.

So here’s a recycled picture of a blueberry Chobani. 😉

If you haven’t noticed yet, I really really REALLY love Chobani. I have one almost every day with lunch, and if it’s not with lunch, then it’s for breakfast or as an afternoon snack. They are the BEST!

And if the Chobani company gets an email from me just happens to read this and wants to send me a huge supply of my favorite yogurts, well that would just be swell. 😉

Well friends, there’s more Olympic action that needs my attention!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Helpful, Life, Running.

Thursday Thoughts 30 Before 30

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  July 28, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    I am so sad I missed the opening ceremonies, gah no cable. I need to find re runs. I really want to see that movie and like you I like seeing it earlier. You go towards my bed time and I just want to sleep! Lamo here. Don’t sweat over that run, we all have them. Even the best runners have them, makes us human!

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  July 29, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      Haha I swear if someone asks me to see a movie past 7:00 I never want to go because I know I’ll be out late! I’m seriously an old woman. And after getting so much positive feedback, I feel much better about that run, and I’m ready to try again! Thanks! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. jessielovestorun  |  July 29, 2012 at 2:07 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your knee pain and your run. Hows your knee feeling today? Unfortunately bad runs come with running. I know they can be hard to handle, trust me I’ll get in such a “mood” after one, but always know that tomorrow is a new day & be thankful you were able to get out there and knock out the 5 miles. Thank you so much for sharing that motivational quote!

    Oh & those pancakes look delicious. I’ve heard so much about Kodiak Mix, and dying to try it out. Where do you get it at?

    Have a wonderful weekend & enjoy the Olympics 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. gkennington  |  July 29, 2012 at 12:07 pm

      The knee is feeling much better today, I think it just gets swollen or inflamed around the joint when I run a lot. I found the Kodiak mix at Target, and if you add in a little cinnamon or sweetener, or even fruit, it makes them even better!! 🙂

      Reply
      • 5. jessielovestorun  |  July 29, 2012 at 12:48 pm

        My computer shut off, so I’m not sure if my previous comment was sent or not. If not, I said something along the lines of “I used to get the same knee pains from running so much. Have you bought new shoes lately?”.

      • 6. gkennington  |  July 29, 2012 at 5:06 pm

        I bought some Mizunos over a month ago, but I was having the knee pain even before then when I was running in Nike Frees. I was going to go to the doctor, but I think I’ll just take a few days to rest from running. I feel like that’s what they’d tell me to do anyway, so I’ll just save myself time and money! Haha

      • 7. jessielovestorun  |  July 30, 2012 at 1:12 am

        What a coincidence. My knee pain started when I was wearing Nike Frees. Not saying that’s the culprit..but how weird. Oh yeah don’t waste your money if ya don’t have too.. I made that dumb mistake :-X

  • 8. Plans, Gear, Supplements, and such « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  August 6, 2012 at 11:28 am

    […] got to thinking about my last couple of weeks of running. Two weeks ago I had a terrible long run, and just this past weekend, I had to skip my long run because of a race I did the night before. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

