Thursday Thoughts {Spontaneous locals only Giveaway!}

August 2, 2012 at 10:59 am 12 comments

So many thoughts, so little time!!

1. Last night my mom looked at me and said, “Grace, your legs are so…….. muscley.” At first I was like noooooooooooo I don’t want to look like this!!

But then I remembered……. I DON’T look like that, so I took it as a compliment. ๐Ÿ™‚ I also decided that it’s my muscley legs that are contributing to my “tight pants” problem and not a gain in body fat. ๐Ÿ˜‰

2. Currently, my kitchen table is topped with planners, books, curriculum, music, etc. while I’m getting ready for the school year.

It makes for nice table decor while we’re eating dinner.

3. Speaking of the school year, I spent most of yesterday in my new classroom where I’ll be teaching 3rd grade music. I managed to go from this…..

….to this…..

and I’ve still got to tackle all the stuff against/on the walls.

4. I’ve been thinking of ways that I can relieve stress during the upcoming school year. I think that doing my weekday runs after school (at the gym while it’s still hot out) instead of before is something that I might try. I know it sounds crazy because I’ll probably be tired from teaching all day and wont want to run, but I think I stress myself out MORE worrying about running in the morning and having enough time to get ready. Plus, I know that getting the exercise in after a day of teaching will help me wind down and be in a much better mood for the rest of the night! ๐Ÿ™‚

5. Breakfast this morning was AWESOME.

Plain Chobani, vanilla, splenda, diced pink lady apple, cinnamon, almond butter, drizzle of honey. I promise there is yogurt under there!

6. As far as the whole Chik-fil-a issue goes….

My opinion on the situation is to just leave them alone people! The company is doing nothing to hurt, abuse, or segregate the gay community. Everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion and beliefs.

But also, we as followers of Christ shouldn’t force our beliefs downs peoples throats, but should show the love of God towards EVERYONE and through our ACTIONS and FAITH share the good news of Jesus! Actions speak SO much louder than words. I’m not saying we should accept the sin because the Bible clearly says that God hates sin, but He loves all His people and so should we! Remember, we are all sinners, and not one sin is worse than the other. I know that I am forgiven through Jesus but have to continually pray for that forgiveness because I’m not perfect. We should pray for one another instead of attacking everyone’s beliefs. Nothing good can come from that.

I’m not saying that I support homosexuality (or lairs, thieves, adulterers, murderers, idolaters, etc. all of which we ALL are!), but I do try to LOVE everyone despite their sins.

Wow, that was a long tangent I got off on. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hopefully I didn’t offend anyone with my thought on the subject. I just know what I believe and and will stand strong in my faith.

7. On a lighter note, I have a fun DIY project to share with you in a few days! Here’s just a little sneak peak. ๐Ÿ˜‰

8. I might be getting close to being able to cross something off of my 30 Before 30 list, I’m not spilling the beans just yet! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Any guesses as the what it is???

Comment with your answer because I’d love to know! ๐Ÿ™‚

9. I’m so proud of myself for how far I’ve comeย  mentally with living a healthy life over the past 5 years. You can read my weight-loss story here (which I desperately need to update because I’ve even changed since then!), but even as little as one year ago, I was so obsessed with restricting my calories and especially with the number on the scale. But now, I’m lucky if I weigh myself once a month. I still track my food because it’s a great way to make sure you’re getting the right amount of protein, carbs, and fat. But, I’m no longer on a diet. This is just the way I live, and I love it!

Someone asked me at church last night if I was still on a crazy diet. I was about to answer, but then Hubby was the one who answered for me. He said something along the lines of, “She doesn’t diet. She just lives healthy.” He may not have realized it, but that meant so much to me, because it’s been such a struggle for me to get to this point! It made me happy to know that he can see the change in my life too! ๐Ÿ™‚

10. Just because I need something to get me to number 10, I’m going to thank you guys so much for reading this, and if you made it to this point in my post, you’re awesome and I will bake you some homemade (NOT HEALTHY) brownies. I’m completely serious. ย ๐Ÿ˜ย  <— That’s a serious face. If you live in the area (Tuscumbia, Sheffield, Muscle Shoals, Florence), comment on this with a Thursday Thought of your own, and I will pick a random number (maybe TWO!) and deliver homemade brownies to your house! ๐Ÿ™‚ If no one comments that they want brownies, well, I’ll just feel like a loser and will make brownies for myself.

I’ll pick a winner on Saturday!!!

YAY! This is technically my first giveaway, even though it was completely spur of the moment! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks for reading!!

Entry filed under: 30 Before 30, Crafts, Diet and Exercise, Giveaway, Helpful, Life, Random, Running.

WIAW {Summer Staples} Fueled by Cupcakes {Last Chance for Brownies!}

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  August 2, 2012 at 11:07 am

    oh man I wish I lived closer! Way to go on having a hubby that supports you like that, that comment is exactly what he should of said. I think the planning for the year of how to relieve stress is such a perfect idea. Good for you for taking that step!

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  August 2, 2012 at 11:38 am

    My question is do you take any supplements before working out or afterward. If you do , do you mind posting what you take? I am trying to figure out exactly what I need to aid me in my workout and post workouts (that are safe).

    Reply
    • 3. gkennington  |  August 2, 2012 at 12:37 pm

      As of now, I only use a protein supplement after workouts, but I’m about to start a new pre-workout supplement and will do a post when I get it in!

      Reply
  • 4. Leah Lockett  |  August 2, 2012 at 11:47 am

    My Thursday Thought is that I am super proud of you & how hard you have worked to get where you are today! You have grown up into a fabulous young woman! Not that that was ever in question, look at how fabulous your family is! Also, I need brownies. Badly. You know my children. Sometimes chocolate is super important to my sanity. Seriously….

    Reply
  • 5. Chad  |  August 2, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    I want brownies…

    Reply
  • 6. Lori Mills  |  August 2, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Love your “Chick Fil A” comments. I want brownies!

    Reply
    • 7. gkennington  |  August 2, 2012 at 4:24 pm

      OMG first comment from MOM!!!!!!!

      Reply
  • 8. jessielovestorun  |  August 3, 2012 at 5:38 am

    I nominated you for the Liebster Award on my blog girl. Check it out ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • […] It’s your last chance to get some homemade brownies from me! Just go comment on THURSDAY’S POST to enter! I’ll post the winner(s) later today! Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestLike […]

    Reply
  • 10. Krista Beck  |  August 4, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    My baby girl loves her some brownies ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. Thursday Thoughts « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  August 23, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    […] now it’s Thursday, and I thought I’d do another edition of Thursday Thoughts because I love being able to tell you the most random things in bullet/numbered form so […]

    Reply
  • 12. Thursday Thoughts | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  September 13, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    […] the workย week is starting toย wind down. It’s also the day for my favorite Thursday Thoughts posts. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

