Fueled by Cupcakes {Last Chance for Brownies!}

August 4, 2012 at 12:11 pm 7 comments

Hello!

I have lots of fun things to share with you this morning, so I’ll get right to it starting with a little bit of a recap from yesterday! ๐Ÿ™‚

After a killer back and shoulders workout with Hubby followed by our usual breakfast of eggs and protein shakes, we spent the morning lounging around with our pups.

I especially love this little nugg.

For a solid 20 minutes, we had our tv turned to the Animal Planet and watched as Pierre stared intensely at the screen.

Then he needed a closer look…

He’s such a funny dog! ๐Ÿ™‚

Around lunch time, we decided to hit up our favorite bakery downtown, Yummies! ๐Ÿ™‚

Turkey and Swiss with homemade chipotle! YUM!

But the real reason for going to Yummies was not for the sandwich. Nope. It was for THIS…

Yummies has the BEST cupcakes in the world, I’m convinced. ๐Ÿ™‚

I decided to indulge in a smores cupcake because I had a 5k later on that night, and for the past couple of races I’ve done, I’ve had a Yummies cupcake the night before. Since this was a night time race (Sunset 5k), I decided to do my carb loading at lunch. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I literally run for cupcakes!

We ran some errands and made a stop by the Salvation Army after lunch where I picked up three cute dishes for $2.50! The rest of the afternoon was pretty much us being lazy watching moreย  (the women’s 10k was insane! 5 min miles!!!) and an episode of Sherlock. Anyone watching that show? It’s pretty good!

I fixed dinner pretty early and kept it fairly light because of the race later.

Pan-seared chicken and roasted asparagus, squash, and zucchini.

I gave myself about 2 and 1/2 hours of digestion time before the race.

Once we arrived and registered, I made Chad take some pictures of me because I was sporting a new shirt.

Looks plain on the front… but that’s because people can’t read what’s on the front of a shirt while you’re passing them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This is just another reason why I love Yummies cupcakes!

They give me cute shirts to wear in my races! It was fun to wear this (even though it was pretty humid for a cotton tee) and show it off to people.

I was especially excited to be wearing it during the awards because they called my name for 2nd place, and everyone got to see the shirt as I walked up to get my trophy! ๐Ÿ™‚

FUELED BY CUPCAKES! ๐Ÿ™‚

I sent ^^that^^ picture to the bakery owners after the race. Hope they’re proud! ๐Ÿ™‚

I was actually pretty shocked when I got 2nd place because my time wasn’t the best I’ve ever gotten. I finished in just over 30 minutes. I think my official time was 30:02. My previous PR was 29:43, and my goal for this race was to finish in 29:30 and to keep a 9:30 pace going throughout the race. But this race was HARD. It was so so so so hot and humid, I felt like my body was engulfed in flames the entire time. I seriously almost took my shirt off and ran in just a sports bra. You’re welcome for not doing that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m going to chalk it all up to the heat and the fact that I’m not used to wearing a cotton tee while racing. But it was still a fun race! ๐Ÿ™‚

******

I went to bed last night with my alarm set for 6:00 so that I could run 5 miles. My long run is supposed to be 8, but because of last night’s race, I was going to scale it down to 5. When I woke up however, I was SUPER so and SUPER tired. My legs were so achy. So I decided to move my long run to tomorrow instead and make today a rest day. That means I’ll hopefully be able to do all 8 miles tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚

It a while for me to get hungry for breakfast, but when I did, I made the most glorious pancakes ever!

Using my Kodiak cake mix, I mixed in 2 tbs of dark cocoa powder, a little bit of splenda, and then topped it all off with some almond butter and sugar free syrup. I almost couldn’t finish them (but of course I did… baha!) and now I am SO. FULL.

Chad is gone for the morning/afternoon to play golf with his two brothers Joe and Jamie. Yesterday I kept calling it “brothers’ day out.” They all live about an hour away from each other and don’t get to hang out much, so I thought it was so cute that they were all going to play golf together! Chad’s also picking up some more protein powder and amino acids from Joe because I’m all out, and I’ve gotta have it to refuel my workouts for sure!

Since Chad’s away, I’ll be out running errands all alone. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But at least I’m sporting my cool new shirt! ๐Ÿ™‚

LAST THING before I’m done, I SWEAR! ๐Ÿ˜‰

A few days ago, I got nominated for the Liebster blog award again! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you so much Jenna from One Day at a Time and Jessie from Jessie Loves to Run! ๐Ÿ™‚

The rules are:

  • Tell 11 random things about yourself.
  • Answer the questions that the person who tagged you asks and create 11 new questions for the people you tag.
  • Tag 11 blogs and link them to your post.
  • Contact them and let them know they have been tagged.

Since I got tagged by two people, I’m going to do my questions in another post later today. But since I’ve been tagged for the Liebster award before and nominated blogs, I’m going to skip that part. The questions sound fun to do though! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a SUPER SATURDAY! ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. It’s your last chance to get some homemade brownies from me! Just go comment on THURSDAY’S POST to enter! I’ll post the winner(s) later today! ๐Ÿ™‚

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Giveaway, Life, Running.

Thursday Thoughts {Spontaneous locals only Giveaway!} 11 Facts and 11 Questions X’s 2

7 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

