Being a “Grown Up”

August 30, 2012 at 6:20 pm 4 comments

Yesterday I started feeling a little under the weather. It got progressively worse throughout the day, and I ended up going to bed feeling terrible. I took some allergy/cold medicine hoping I’d feel better in the morning. When I woke up, I felt WORSE. 😦 But despite feeling like a big sack of poop, I still had to put on a happy face and come to work to teach my babies some music! (Don’t worry parents, I don’t have a fever, and I’m washing my hands and pumping germ-x like crazy!)

 I love being a “grown up” and having a full time job, but one thing I miss about college and high school is being able to stay home when you’re sick. Not that I can’t stay home from work when I’m sick, but I’d rather use my sick days for when I’m REALLY sick. It definitely took a lot of energy to power through this day!

Last night, even though I was feeling bad, I decided to be productive and prep today’s breakfast AND lunch. So when I woke up this morning, I didn’t have to do anything!

Breakfast

 

An old favorite I haven’t had in a while. Overnight oats in a jar! 🙂

It was also a THREE cups of coffee kind of morning. 😉

Lunch

 

Light tuna salad and string cheese. I made the salad using 1 can of tuna, 1 tbs of light mayo, 1 tsp of dijon, chopped pickles, and 1 hard boiled egg. Very filling!

 

I also had an afternoon “treat.” Usually I drink nothing but water all day, but I brought with me a big cup of sugar free peach tea (made with the crystal light packs) to enjoy during my afternoon planning time. 🙂 Little motivators here and there work wonders!

Workout

I wanted nothing more than to just go home and collaps on the couch after work today, but I knew that I would feel SO much better after my run!

#PROOF

I’m going to be fixing a quick dinner for husband and me, then I have a meeting at 6:30. Dinners options are starting to look slim, so a grocery trip is MUCH needed this weekend.

Have a great rest of the day, and get excited because tomorrow is FRIDAY! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Random, Running.

WIAW {Random Meal Edition} Lazy Day

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  August 30, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    What recipe do you use for overnight oats?

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  August 30, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      Usually, I do 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup of light vanilla yogurt, 1/4 cup of almond milk, and cinnamon and Splenda for sweetness. Sometimes I add in pumpkin to make more creamy!

      Reply
  • 3. Alex @ therunwithin  |  August 30, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I am quickly learning that about the real world too, there is no snooze in the real world or ability to skip a class. Woof. Hope you feel better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

