Lazy Day

September 1, 2012 at 5:35 pm 11 comments

Happy 1st day of September! I’ve got to say, I’m excited for fall, but where the heck did August go?? That was such a quick month!

I hope you have some fun plans for Labor Day weekend! We have a family cookout tomorrow after church that I’m excited for, but as for today, I’ve definitely started the weekend out great!

I followed my own steps for a SUPER SATURDAY this morning with a pancake for breakfast!

Then I set out to do 7 miles at the same trail as last week. I took some Gu with me and thought I’d give it a try around mile 4. I liked the flavor (tri-berry), but didn’t really feel a huge difference in energy. I guess it’s always good to replenish your calories though. It was around the time I was taking my Gu when I ran into two of my favorite people in the world… THE BROWNS!!! They were my teachers at UNA and taught me so much. I miss them A LOT!

I finished 7 miles in 1:13:54, which isn’t the best, but I”ll take it! Also, try not to notice that my weight has gone up slightly over the past 5 months. 😦 I’m not too proud.

After running, I sat on the curb by my car to cool off, take pictures, and drink my aminos.

Once I was home and showered, I sat on the couch watching movies with Chad. I didn’t get hungry for lunch until 1:00 because my tummy felt “off,” but I ended up fixing a HUGE omelet the size of my face. 😉

About an hour later, hunger struck again, so I fixed a cup of my favorite “blueberry almond butter mush” that I got from Tina last week.

I spent the rest of the afternoon over at Mom’s to let the doggies play. They really love each other. 🙂

And my brother Rick snuggled with Pierre.

So besides my run, it’s been an amazing lazy day! Hubs and I have plans to go out for Mexican tonight, and I am SO ready to replenish those burned calories with some chips and salsa!!! 😉

Have a great holiday weekend!!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running.

Being a “Grown Up” A Lot of Energy

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jessielovestorun  |  September 1, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    Great job on the 7 girl :). Have you just starting gaining weight since upping your miles? If so, that’s totally normal since your prob. eating more as well. Have a wonderful rest of the weekend, and enjoy the chips & salsa. xo

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  September 2, 2012 at 7:46 am

      Thanks! Yeah, I think it’s a combination between upping my mileage and indulging more throughout the summer. I’m trying not to worry about it though because I still feel great!

      Reply
      • 3. jessielovestorun  |  September 2, 2012 at 10:49 am

        & that’s all that matters <3. You need those extra indulges with the increase of miles anyways!

  • 4. Kaley  |  September 1, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    What running app do you use?

    Reply
    • 5. gkennington  |  September 2, 2012 at 7:42 am

      I use different ones! Right now I’m using Hal Higdon’s half marathon training app, but usually I either use MapMyRun or the NikeRun+

      Reply
  • 6. Anna  |  September 2, 2012 at 12:16 am

    When you say you take your aminos what are you referring to (brand wise)?

    Reply
    • 7. gkennington  |  September 2, 2012 at 7:44 am

      They’re called Chain’d Out, and I got them from my brother in law who works in a gym in Huntsville. But they have other kinds around here! Just look for a supplement that say BCAAs or Amino Acids on the label.

      Reply
  • 8. A Lot of Energy | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  September 4, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    […] back to real life everyone. Hope you had a fun Labor Day weekend! Mine was a blast and included a 7 mile run, a get-together with my family, shopping, and PLENTY […]

    Reply
  • 9. Tiffany @ Cute Dogs and Hugs  |  September 5, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    You should try Honey Stinger gummy chews. We’ve used them on our long rides (not on runs so far) and I really felt the difference in my energy levels. The second 10 miles were much easier than the first 10 but that may have also been because my legs were better warmed up by then.

    Reply
    • 10. gkennington  |  September 5, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      I saw those a few days ago but wasn’t sure about them? I bought some sports beans instead, but I might go back and get them now! Thanks!

      Reply
      • 11. Tiffany @ Cute Dogs and Hugs  |  September 5, 2012 at 2:33 pm

        The fruit punch flavor tastes like candy! Don’t get the pomegranate. It tasted weird and gross especially when they’re warm….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

