Marvelous in my Monday!

September 10, 2012 at 4:04 pm 6 comments

I don’t blog a lot over the weekend because I’m lazy. 😉 And when Monday comes, I usually don’t talk much about the weekend. I like to jump straight into the new week. But this weekend was so extra spectacular, that I’ve decided to do a full recap of all the fun that was had! I also want to link up with Katie for my first Marvelous in my Monday post! Even though this isn’t about a marvelous Monday, I’ll be thinking about all the fun I had this weekend to make my Monday marvelous!

Saturday

I started my Saturday just like the last two….. with a pancake! But not just any pancake…. no friends, this was a pumpkin pancake! Yes pumpkin is BACK. 😉

To make this pumpkin pancake, I used 1/3 cup of kodiak cake mix, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 2 packets of splenda, 2 tbs pumpkin puree, and 1/3 cup of water. Topped with a little almond butter and sugar free syrup! 🙂

Then it was time to knock out 8 miles! I gathered up all my gear which included aminos, water belt, and sports beans. Then I hit the TVA trail and had the most exhillarating and emotional run of my life! I started with a new-to-me trail that had some rolling hills but nothing too hard. I eventually came out to the old train bridge and ran to the end while taking in the beautiul view of the river. Throughout the first half of my run, I was so emotional. I felt so blessed to be able to enjoy the gift of running. It was such a spiritual run, and I spent a lot of it thanking God for His blessings. During the last 4 miles it started to rain, but not enough to keep me from finishing. It was my first time running in the rain, and I absolutely loved it! I can’t wait to do it again!

I  stopped at the gas station on my way home to get a chocolate milk. 🙂

After an excrutiating ice bath and some rest, I made lunch.

I always seem to have omelets after my long runs? I took that raspberry Chobani with me in the car because husband and I had some errands to run.

We went to Verizon, Best Buy, and then to the mall because I wanted to buy more sports beans at GNC. While we were there, I found the Quest Bars that I saw Katie eating on her blog! So I bought a couple to try. I had the cinnamon roll flavor for an afternoon snack and loved it!

When we got home, I had a package waiting! I knew exactly what it was….

My Bic Bands!!! I ordered these last week and was so excited to get them! I love that they wrote a little note too! 🙂

Later on, we decided to go out for dinner. We went to Oh! Bryan’s, a new restaurant downtown that’s techinically not really “new.” It’s just in a new location. We both started with their famous salad bar!

For my entree, I ordered the blackened grilled chicken with a sweet potato.

Everything was delicious! 🙂

We ended the night watching The Patriot and relaxing on the couch. A great Saturday!

Sunday

Sundays always start off the same. Coffee time followed by a full morning of church services and Sunday school. After church, we went out for Mexican.

Then we spent the entire afternoon outside on our deck. Literally, the entire afternoon. Chad even got a beach chair out so he could lay down. Then this happened…..

While Pierre was busy annoying Chad, I went inside to do a little “baking.”

Those are no bake chocolate pb oatmeal cookies, which is why I put the quotations around baking. 😉 I made these for two reasons. The first one being that I wanted to bring some cookies for the youth at church later that night. The second reason was because I really wanted to eat some. 😉 They were good, but are even better when you freeze them!

After our youth bible study, some of the kids invited us to go to Fiesta Mexicana (obviously another Mexican restaurant). Since we had already eaten Mexican for lunch, and I gorged on cookies all afternoon, we just ordered a bean dip.

It was such a fun weekend! One of the best I’ve had in a while, and I think the amazing weather had a lot to do with it. I am so pumped for this fall season now!!

I may be back to talk about today’s shenanagans, but if not, have a MARVELOUS MONDAY! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, MIMM, Random, Running.

Fun Friday Fotos {again!} Sore Legs and Living Outside

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Denise  |  September 10, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Too cute! Loved Pierre’s antics!

    Reply
  • 2. Alex @ therunwithin  |  September 10, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    I am glad you had such a great weekend! Looks like a blast.

    Reply
    • 3. gkennington  |  September 10, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      Thanks! Yours sounded fun as well! 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Sore Legs and Living Outside | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  September 11, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    […] such a marvelous weekend, it was kind of hard getting back into “work mode.” Monday morning I wore one of my new […]

    Reply
  • 5. Amy  |  September 11, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    Sounds like you had quite the busy weekend! And those no bake cookies? Um, they look incredible. Thanks for sharin’!

    Amy
    @Chobani

    Reply
  • […] hello! I thought I’d share the recipe that I used for the no-bake cookies I made on Sunday! This is part of my WIAW post because I don’t have many good looking food pictures to show […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

