Sore Legs and Living Outside

September 11, 2012 at 4:58 pm 4 comments

After such a marvelous weekend, it was kind of hard getting back into “work mode.” Monday morning I wore one of my new Bic Bands and was definitely rocking the “little girl” hair with my braid and head band.

Hubby and I did manage to get our butts to the gym yesterday morning and kill work our legs, and after not working those muscles for two weeks, it made me extremely sore today! Seriously, every movement hurts. I vow to never skip leg day again! haha

After work yesterday, we spent our entire evening outside on the deck again. We’ve basicaly been living outside for the past 3 days. It feels too good to not be outside! We sat outside reading for the longest time. I eventually went inside to put some sweet potatoes in the oven and went back outside while they cooked. Then Pierre got in trouble and was forced to take a “time out.”

I asked Chad to grill some chicken, and I boiled corn on the cob to go along with our potatoes. It made for a very yummy “end of summer” dinner.

We decided (of course) to eat outside, and Chad set up his iPad for a little entertainment. We’re dorks.

We also let the dogs try corn cobs. They approved.

This morning I woke up early just so that I could enjoy 3 cups of coffee. Does anyone else do that? I probably spend about an hour sitting on the couch and sipping coffee. I eventually made a CHO-mazing yogurt bowl for breakfast. The usual… plain Cho, vanilla, splenda, apple, and peanut butter.

Work was extra fun today because we’re listening to Peter and the Wolf in 2nd grade. It’s so fun to watch their facial expressions while they listen to the story. I’m even more excited to see what happens next week when we act it out in each class.

According to Hal, I was supposed to run 3 miles today. But my legs were so so so SO sore that I just couldn’t do it. I really didn’t want to make my legs even worse by running while sore, so I decided to give myself a day of rest to let them recover. Tomorrow I’ll have 4 miles to do, and I plan on running for sure!

After work I was starving, so I grabbed a Quest bar for an afternoon snack. Hopefully those 20 grams of protein will hold me until dinner. 😉

And now, take a guess at where I’m sitting right now…… I’ll give you a hint.

Have a great Tuesday! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running.

Marvelous in my Monday! Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies {WIAW}

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  September 11, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    I wish I had a deck. So jealous. The weather has been amazing. Now I am craving corn on the cob!

    Reply
  • 2. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy  |  September 11, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    I can’t wait until we own a house with a back porch/deck/patio/whatever :). We have a balcony off of our apartment, but we’re surrounded by smokers :(. I don’t like breathing in second hand smoke.

    Reply
    • 3. gkennington  |  September 12, 2012 at 8:45 am

      We LOVE the deck, but sadly we’re just renting this house. We have a house in mind to buy soon and have already decided that we’re building a deck onto the back because it doesn’t have one! lol

      Reply
  • 4. Thursday Thoughts | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  September 13, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    […] My usual yogurt bowl was made complete with a wonderfully drippy scoop of almond butter from a freshly opened jar. The […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

