MIIM {A Distance Record}

September 17, 2012 at 7:45 pm 1 comment

Once again, I’m starting this Mavelous Monday after having a marvelous weekend! Thanks to Katie for the awesome link-up!

Friday night was spent eating with friends and hanging out back at our house for most of the night. My Saturdays are almost identical now. Wake up, drink coffee, eat a pancake, long run, recover, eat lunch, go shopping with husband. And that’s exactly what happened. I was most excited about my long run because I hit a PDR of 9 miles!! I had an awesome run and never felt the need for any sports beans. I just kept drinking water and chugging along. šŸ™‚

Nine miles plus chocolate milk to refuel!

While husband and I were out, we went to the mall and, like teenagers, just hung out.

Sitting on a bench drinking diet lemondade from Chik-fil-a while he’s eating an ice dream.

Sunday was our normal churchĀ routine, and for the evening, we had a cookout for our youth. Burgers were grilled, duck-duck-goose was played, and kick-ball was “attempted” in our small lot.

A fun way to end such a marvelous weekend!

**********

Today I officially started the challenge.Ā Five days ofĀ notĀ counting any calories. I’ll still be eating healthy, but I’m to prove to myself that I can do this without obsessing over every singleĀ calorie.

So far, so good. But it’s only day 1.

This morning I started off with a cup of coffee before heading to the gym. Hubby and I did legs today, and mine definitely still feel like jello! I made sure to drink some amino before and during our workout. Afterwards, I had a protein shake and madeĀ my usualĀ egg white omelet. It looks awful, but tasted fine.

I packed my lunch like I always do, and it included some grilled chicken, sliced cucumber, and a blueberry Chobani. Sorry, no picture. šŸ˜¦

My afternoon snack was a Quest Bar. These are so great, and they keep me SO full! I love them!

Chocolate brownie flavor is SO good warmed up in the microwave!

Husband has meetings tonight, so I had to fix dinner a little early. I decided on pan searing some pork chops and roasting some brussels sprouts and okra. It turned out delicious!

Now picture this…. kitchen is clean, dishes are done, tomorrow’s lunch is prepped, morning coffee is preset, and it’s only 6:45. Fabulous! I’ll be spending the rest of the evening curled up on the couch by myself. Well not technically by myself. It’s me and my four furry friends. Oh yeah, did I forget to mention that we’re dog-sitting for my in-laws while they’re in Disney World? (Let’s forget about the fact that I’m insanely jealous and wish I was there with them!)

Meet Speedy (the black one) and Winston (the white one). They are both tiny little nuggs and don’t really do anything beside lay around, eat, and pee/poop. Sometimes it’s hard to even get Winston to come out from under the bed. šŸ˜‰

Anyway, the challenge is going good, butĀ it’s so hard for me to not think about the amount of calories I’m eating because I’ve been trying to lose a few pounds. BUT, I know that this is more important for me right now. I’m tearing down this idol and going from beingĀ controlled (by the counting) to being inĀ control. YAY ME!

Time for something sweet! šŸ™‚ Have a great night!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, MIMM, Running, Uncategorized.

The Day That Changed My Life and A Challenge Too Fast

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  September 17, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    love the refuel! chocolate milk is so good right after, but immediately after aka I learned the hard way after my half marathon. yuck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

