Too Fast

September 18, 2012 at 8:36 pm 5 comments

Okay friends, so the challenge is going great so far! I feel like I have so much freedom. Why didn’t I do this earlier?? I can’t wait to see how I feel at the end of the week!

No food pictures today because I’m saving them for a WIAW post. But I do want to share my run from today.

All I had to do was run 3 miles. Easy! I’ve been doing 3 miles 2-3 times a week for the past 5 months. I decided to run outside after work because the weather was amazing! It felt nice and cool, even cool enough for me to run in a long sleeved, but lightweight, dry-fit! I was SO pumped to run outside. A little too pumped maybe? I started out pretty fast, but I guess I didn’t realize how fast until I got to mile 2 and hit a wall. A WALL. At mile TWO! I felt so stupid, but I pushed on slowly and got through the 3 miles. As soon as I was done, I checked my phone to see my splits (because I still don’t have a Garmin *hint hint Chad*). As you can see in the photo above, I ran the first mile in 9:29. Definitely too fast.

Now I know how easy it is to misjudge my pace when it’s not 90 degrees and humid. It was a good learning experience that will help me for my future outside runs this fall!

Chad, the new Garmin 10 would also help A LOT!!!! 😉

See y’all tomorrow for What I Ate Wednesday!

Entry filed under: Life, Running.

MIIM {A Distance Record} WIAW {On Tuesday!}

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  September 18, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    it really is true, sometimes the weather just totally pumps me up and I don’t realize until that wall. You look adorable in those bright shorts!

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  September 18, 2012 at 8:57 pm

      I had no idea I was going that fast until fatigue set in so early! Oh well, live and learn I guess. And thanks, those are my favorite shorts!

      Reply
  • 3. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy  |  September 18, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    I did the same thing when I started training for my half marathon. And now I have shin splints…bad. I can’t let other running blogs get to my head anymore, because I’m not the type of person who can run a mile in under 9:00 with no problems!

    Reply
    • 4. gkennington  |  September 19, 2012 at 8:39 am

      I’m the same way! I probably shouldn’t run any faster than a 10:00 in the first mile. Lesson learned after yesterday!

      Reply
  • 5. WIAW {On Tuesday!} | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  September 19, 2012 at 11:48 am

    […] Revolution protein bar from Pure Protein. LOVE this! Tastes like a snickers but with only 2g of sugar and 20g of protein!! I had this after my terrible run yesterday. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

