Thursday Thoughts

September 20, 2012 at 6:20 pm 4 comments

*Note: Recipe at the end of this post!*

Happy Thursday!! 🙂 One of my favorite days of the week!

And time for Thursday Thoughts!

1. I’m pretty much rocking the challenge! I’m still making healthy choices, but I’m not worried about having extra food if I’m still hungry because of the calories. I feel awesome and I’m rarely ever hungry! I don’t try to “save calories” during the day so that I can have enough for something sweet at night. I just eat! Usually my dessert is a 1 Minute Chocolate Cake or some “bloob goop.”

2. After listening to “Peter and the Wolf” twice a day for 2 weeks (during my 2nd grade classes), I can pretty much quote the entire story and hum every instrumental part of the music.

3. I had to run 5 miles between work and church yesterday. I started out slow, but it was still a really tough run at first. It wasn’t until I got to mile 4 that my legs felt loose and not like led.

I also got to see some of my kiddos while I was out! I ran by a house, heard some kids shouting, and saw that they were waving at me. I decided to stop and talk to them for a second, so it gave an excuse to take a break. 😉

4. I’m supposed to run 3 miles today, but my legs have been feeling so tired lately. I may opt for a little more rest this week in preparation for my first double digit run on Saturday. 10 miles!!!! Nervous is an understatement! I think an evening foam rolling and lounging in my compression socks will help prepare my legs. 🙂

5. I downloaded iOS6 last night. No major changes, but I like everything so far! The “do not disturb” feature is pretty cool, but couldn’t you just turn your phone off??? I think I’m most excited about the new Emojis. I sent this to Chad today when I found them.

6. I’m thinking about having tilapia for dinner tonight because we bought some during our last grocery trip, but I have no idea how to cook it??? We bought it frozen but not pre-cooked. Anyone with a really awesome recipe? Send it my way!!

7. The countdown until my birthday began yesterday. Husband officially has six weeks to decide what to get me! 😉

8. I’m going to be in Atlanta the weekend before my 1/2 marathon. So that means I’m going to have to find a way to run 12 miles, and I’m pretty sure that running 12 miles on a hotel treadmill is out of the question. Is there anyone out there that knows some good places to run in Atlanta??? Please email me! I desperately need some help with this one. Thanks!

9. Chad and I finally got our own cell phone plan and got off our parents’. We also got our first medical bill a few days ago. Now we’re officially grown-ups. 😦

10. I told you guys that I’d give you my recipe for Tuesday night’s tuna cakes, and here it is! This recipe only makes one serving, so double it if cooking for more!

1 4oz. can of tuna

1 egg or 1/4 cup egg substitute

1 tbs bread crumbs or flour

1/2 tsp garlic powder

salt and pepper to taste

Extra flour to lightly pat onto patties

Combine ingredients in a bowl and form into two patties/cakes. Pat a little flour on both sides of each cake. Place the cakes in a skillet set on medium. Make sure you spray some cooking spray or use a little olive oil in the skillet first. Cook on both sides until lighty brown.

These were SO easy to make and really delicious. You can change out the spices and seasonings to give them a different taste if you’d like! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Random, Recipes, Thursday Thoughts.

WIAW {On Tuesday!} Life Happens

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  September 20, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    oh gosh tilapia is my favorite fish. lemon pepper seasoning is great with it!

    Reply
  • 2. Emily  |  September 20, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    I cook tilapia at least three times a week! One of my favorite dishes! I have tried it several different ways! My favorite is Italian seasoning, tony chachere’s creole seasoning, garlic powder and pepper! All mixed together and sprinkled on heavy one side…I know sounds strange to mix but it’s really good! Also any Greek seasoning is great on it!

    Reply
  • 4. jessielovestorun  |  September 21, 2012 at 9:46 am

    We actually had Tilapia for dinner last night. If you need any good recipes, feel free to e-mail me “jessiejoshua21@yahoo.com”. We usually have it 2x a week.

    Good luck on your long run this weekend girl. I’m sure you’ll rock it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

