Thursday Thoughts {On The Challenge}

September 27, 2012 at 6:04 pm 1 comment

Okay guys, I’m a liar. I told you that I was going to have a WIAW post up showing my yummy food from the fair, but I let life get to me again and just couldn’t find the time. Remember, Wednesdays are my busiest days!

Anyway, I also realized that I only actually ate one thing at the fair which was a funnel cake. (You’re pretty much obligated to eat funnel cake at the fair). I guess I was thinking about all the food everyone else in my group ate?? Things like philly cheesesteaks, polish sausage sandwiches, footlong corndogs, ice cream cones, and fried snickers. Okay, now I’m hungry. So my WIAW post would have consisted of this.

Funnel cake and the most delicious lemonade EVER. We refilled that cup 3 times!

So since WIAW was a bust, let’s just get right into my Thursday Thoughts for the day. Today’s thoughts are all about my most recent challenge. I decided to try to overcome my calorie counting problem and go 5 days with absolutely NO counting. Here are the feelings I experienced throughout the five days.

Day 1: This feels weird

Day 2: Still weird, but feeling good.

Day 3: I think I like this.

Day 4: I really kind of love this.

Day 5: I’M NEVER COUNTING CALORIES AGAIN!!!!!!

Free at last free at last, thank God Almighty, I’m free at last!

This is literally how I feel! I am so glad that I took on this challenge so that I could prove to myself that calorie counting DID NOT control me. I am in control! (Well, technically, that would be God. But He keeps me in control)

Last week put everything into perspective for me. I can still eat healthy, and did, without counting every calorie that I eat. I feel like I can finally enjoy life without thinking “how many calories is that?” or “dang it, I went over my calories by 75 today” or even “ugh, I shouldn’t have eaten that cupcake. Those extra 350 calories are showing today.”

I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen more. I used to stick with the same kinds of meals over and over because they were “safe.” But now, I don’t worry about trying something new just because it has 100 or so extra calories than my normal dinners.

No one should live their life constantly counting calories. I understand though, that if you want to lose a significant amount of weight, then you do actually have to watch you calorie intake. But I’m not trying to lose 25 or 50 pounds. Sure I’d like to slim up, but I’m going to do that by continuing to eat healthy and exercising!

I actually want to send a thank you over to Lindsay (at Lindsay’s List) who inspired me to take on this challenge through one of her own 5 day challenges and through her post on her thoughts from the challenge. THANK YOU! 🙂

This challenge has been a great experience for me and has, dare I say, changed my life. 🙂

Now, on to less serious things!

Yesterday I had a 5 mile run to get done. I had missed a 3 miler on Tuesday because of sore legs, so thought this run wouldn’t be so bad. WRONG. It hurt, a lot. For some reason my quads were so stiff and so extremely sore. I had to walk a lot, and I usually don’t walk when running anything less than 7 or 8 miles. I was kind of bummed but still glad I got through it.

Today called for another 3 miles. I debated skipping this one too since my legs still felt pretty stiff, but I don’t have a long run on Saturday because I’m running a 5k, so I needed to get in the miles. It was still a tough run, but I’m blaming it on the weather. It’s gotten hot around here again, and I was running in almost 90 degree temps with not much shade from the sun. Bleh.

In other news, my breakfast this morning was extra yummy! I had my usual yogurt bowl that had plain Chobani, vanilla, cinnamon, pumpkin spice, chopped apple, peanut butter, and I topped it off with a new granola that I’ve been eying at the grocery store for a while.

I finally bought it this week and love it! I’m sure it’s no where near as good as the famous Love Grown brand, but for me it’s the best I could do!

One last thought for the day. I have a black toenail. You’re welcome for now showing you a picture. I’ve had it for a few weeks now. It doesn’t hurt, but it did when I first got it. I don’t really care that it’s black, in fact, I kind of like it. I think it means that I’m a true hardcore runner now. 🙂

And with that, I’m off to get some dinner ready for hubs and me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Life Happens Crossing Off My List {and a new PR!}

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  September 27, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    I am so proud of you and glad you got that feeling, you deserve to be free! calories suck anyways, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

