Catching Up

October 5, 2012 at 5:09 pm 3 comments

Sorry that’s it’s been a few days um, I mean almost a week since I’ve written (not that anyone really cared ;)), but I really haven’t had anything exciting or interesting going on over here lately. I don’t like to blog just for the sake of blogging. So, I’ll catch you guys up on some things that have been happening around here.

Chad was out of town for a few days earlier this week, so I had to cook dinner for one. You guys know that I usually eat strange things for dinner when it’s just me, and this was no exception. Dinner number one was a bowl of ground turkey, zucchini, squash, brussels sprouts, and spinach all cooked together in a big skillet.

Dinner number two was an enormous serving of sauteed green beans and a sweet potato.
The grean beans filled up over half of my dinner plate, which is huge! I was a little worried that I had eaten too many…..

**********
I’ve only run 8 miles since we last spoke. 3 on Tuesday and 5 on Wednesday.

I feel kind of behind because I didn’t have a long run last Saturday since I ran the 5k. Normally that wouldn’t be too big of a deal and I’d get back into the groove with a long run this Saturday, but then I remembered this…
I’m running my very first Zombie 5k tomorrow, and I’m FREAKING OUT! I’m not sure how I’ll handle the pressure, and what I’m really worried about is how fast are these zombies going to go?? Are we talking slow moving “The Walking Dead” kind of zombies or friggin’ fast 28 Days Later kind of zombies??? All I know is that if I finish the race with all of my flags (we were a flag belt), then I get some kind of cool prize.
Another reason I’m worried about the race is that I really need to do a long run. I can’t imagine going two weeks without one, especially when my half is only about 3 weeks away!! So, I’m planning on getting up early to get in 7 miles before the race. It starts at 10:00, so as long as I’m done running by 8:00, that should give me enough time to eat breakfast, clean up a little, and get to the race in plenty of time. I’m just crossing my fingers that I’ll have the energy to run again!

**********
Wednesday night, we had our first big service in our new youth building!
There were 42 youth that came!! It was so exciting! I’m so proud of Chad for being such an awesome youth pastor and being a great role model for the kids. 🙂

**********
I got the BEST card in the mail yesterday.
The local day spa sends out these discount cards around the time of your birthday(mine is Oct. 31), and CANNOT WAIT to use it for a massage after my half marathon in a few weeks! WOO! 🙂

**********
Of all the things for Pierre to want to play with, he chooses my water belt.
Like, there are three stuffed things on the couch above him. Two giant bananas and a giraffe, and he wants my water belt?? Weirdo.

**********
Chad and I have been completely unmotivated to go to the gym. I don’t know what it is, but something has to be done! Maybe a new training plan/routine?

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I’m going to do after the half. Part of me wants to just keep going and train for a marathon (EEEK!), but I think I may wait until next year to train for the Disney World Marathon in January. Another part of me wants to focus on toning and fat burning. For this I’ll have to cut out my really long runs and do more HIIT style cardio. Maybe this will be a good change to my regular fitness routine? I’m ready for a little change! I still want to run and race, but I can focus on more speed for shorter races like 5ks and 10ks.

Well now that I’m just rambling, I can sign off on this post and hope that my life gets a little more interesting. 😉 I’ll have a fun Zombie Race recap in a few days!

Have a fabulous Friday!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Random, Running, Uncategorized.

Crossing Off My List {and a new PR!} Zombie 5k Recap

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  October 5, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    gosh I have missed you! loved the catch up

    Reply
  • 2. Jessie  |  October 5, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    loving your dinner 1. it’s exactly something i’d eat & totally not understand why the hubs doesn’t enjoy it haha.

    have fun at the 5k this weekend girl. i’m sure it’ll be awesome. Oh & if you are thinking of running a marathon, do the Rock n Roll D.C Marathon in March! I’m flying back to the states to run in it 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. gkennington  |  October 8, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      Thanks! Running a RnR race is something that I will definitely be doing. It’s on my bucket list! I’m gonna look into D.C. for sure!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

