Zombie 5k Recap

October 9, 2012 at 7:43 pm 5 comments

Happy Tuesday! I promised you guys with a race recap, so that’s what I’ve got today!

I woke up early Saturday morning for a 7 mile run at my favorite trail. No pancakes before this run though. I stuck with half a cup of coffee and toast with jam.

It was FREEZING (at least to me), and the wind seemed to cut right through my clothes. But I got through those 7 miles and felt pretty good about it. After my run, I went straight home to change, get warm, and eat breakfast.

I prepped a jar of overnight protein oats! In my jar there was 1/3 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of almond milk, and a scoop of chocolate protein powder.

Not too long after eating, I grabbed my stuff and was off to the race!

I made Chad take this picture of me in my new Pro Compression socks. I LOVE THEM! Plus they’re pink. πŸ™‚

The race got started a little late, but when it did start, everyone took off so fast. I guess we were all anxious about zombies chasing us?

The first turn took us through an ally where we met the first “batch” of zombies. Throughout the race they were stationed at different spots, which I liked because it gave me some time to slow down between all the sprinting. Seriously, I sprinted so much to get away from the zombies. It was like 3.1 miles of intervals. I even had to walk a little throughout, so I figured my time wouldn’t be great. But I was still having fun!Chad was able to get this picture of me dodging a zombie.

In the end, I managed to keep 1 of my 2 flags. I even finished in 30:04! I knew it wouldn’t be as fast as my last 5k, but I was glad to keep a 10 min/mile pace after running 7 miles that morning. I ended up finishing 74 out of 234 runners. Ehh.

I found a free hug after the race.

Random zombie nun?

I grabbed my race swag bag and a bag of goodies from the Target tent!

In my race bag was the t-shirt, a cup, a rubber bracelet, a free pass to a haunted corn maze, and some other pamphlets/coupons.

The Target bag had water, drink mix, granola bar, fruit chews, and some mixed nuts.

After the race, hubs and I went to Sweet Peppers deli for lunch. I had the most amazing hummus plate!

The rest of the afternoon we hung out with my parents and then got ready for a movie night with some friends. First, Chad and I had dinner at Chili’s where I finally got my long run/race treat!

Buffalo chicken sandwich and sweet potato fries. YUM! πŸ™‚

We decided to see Pitch Perfect, and it was so good! I’d go see it again, and that’s a big deal because I usually hate sitting through a movie at the theater. I’d much rather be on the couch with a blanket. I brought the snacks from my Target bag to eat during the movie but also had lots of Chad’s raisinets. πŸ˜‰

It was definitely a great day! It was also my first time running before a race. It wasn’t too bad, so I’m thinking about doing something like it again this weekend because there’s another 5k that I’d like to run. We’ll see!

Sorry it took so long for the recap, but thanks for reading! And just in case you’re counting like I am, only three weeks until my Halloween birthday!!!! πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running, Uncategorized.

Catching Up Thursday Thoughts

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  October 9, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    what a cool race, that would be so awesome to run. nice job!

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  October 11, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      Thanks! It was….interesting. hah

      Reply
  • 3. Jessie  |  October 10, 2012 at 2:42 am

    Love this recap. Your day sounds absolutely perfect. I mean it did involve chilis! Please tell me you had some of their amazing chips & salsa too?? πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 4. gkennington  |  October 11, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      Oh man, we didn’t even THINK to get the chips and salsa. I always forget how good that stuff is!

      Reply
  • 5. Thursday Thoughts | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  October 11, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    […] I finally discovered PicMonkey and got a little carried away with one of my pictures from the Zombie 5k.Just go with […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

