WIAW {Spaghetti Squash Adventures}

October 17, 2012 at 6:00 am 11 comments

Happy Wednesday! I realized that I’ve been really bad about showing my food recently, so what better way to get back into the groove than with What I Ate Wednesday! 🙂

Today’s WIAW is all from yesterday, so here we go!

Breakfast:A big bowl of pumpkin oatmeal! I thickened it up with some egg whites, which also added more protein. In the mix is 1/3 cup of oats, 1/3 cup of almond milk, 2 tbs pumpkin, 3 tbs liquid egg whites, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, a little sugar free maple syrup, and a scoop of almond butter. DELICIOUS!

Lunch:

My lunches never look good because I usually just grab random things and throw them in my thermal. But here it is anyway!Grilled chicken and mustard, baby carrots, apple, and Chobani.

Afternoon Snack:Revolution protein bar. LOVE these! They taste like snickers, but with only 2 grams of sugar and 20 grams of protein!!

Dinner:I roasted my very first spaghetti squash for dinner last night! In the bowl is 2 cups of spaghetti squash, 1/2 cup tomato sauce, 1/4 cup fat free cheddar cheese, and Parmesan cheese. So good!

I thought I’d share with you my adventures in roasting this spaghetti squash.Step 1: Cut squash in half length wise. Make husband do it when you can’t and take pictures.

Step 2: Scoop out the squash guts like you would a pumpkin.

Step 3: Place squash halves face down on pan and bake at 375 for 30-40 minutes.Step 4: When squash is done, use a fork to scrape out the flesh. It will be all noodley and delicious.

Step 5: Store in tupperware container because there’s SO MUCH.

The End!

Dessert:A little healthified chocolate mug cake with peanut butter. 🙂

That’s all for this edition of What I Ate Wednesday! Thanks Jenn for hosting!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, WIAW.

Marvelous in my Monday! Thursday Thoughts {Early Birthween Surprise!}

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jessielovestorun  |  October 17, 2012 at 7:42 am

    oh hunnie, do you know you can microwave spaghetti squash? It’s so much quicker, I promise 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  October 17, 2012 at 8:44 am

      OMG, I had NO idea! haha I’ll have to do it that way next time. Do you still cut it in half or microwave it whole?

      Reply
      • 3. jessielovestorun  |  October 17, 2012 at 9:49 am

        you don’t have to cut it in half, it’d be easier though 🙂

  • 4. Tiffany F.  |  October 17, 2012 at 8:54 am

    I love spaghetti squash. I went through a phase when I was eating it every week or every other week. Haven’t eaten it in awhile though because it hardly ever looks any good at the super market. Thanks for reminding me about it!

    Reply
    • 5. gkennington  |  October 17, 2012 at 9:01 am

      I’m so glad I finally tried it! I’ll definitely be eating the leftovers all week though because my husband doesn’t seem to want anything to do with it! lol

      Reply
      • 6. Tiffany F.  |  October 17, 2012 at 9:18 am

        My husband and I can never eat the entire thing. It seems like a little thing but once you scoop everything out, you realize it’s a ton of food!! I like to put it under some homemade mashed potatoes with some gravy on top and eat that as a meal by itself. =)

  • 7. Alex @ therunwithin  |  October 17, 2012 at 10:53 am

    i love spaghetti squash and I eat it the same way. I actually had it last night! so yum!

    Reply
  • 8. Eating 4 Balance  |  October 17, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    I just made some acorn squash in the microwave. Love spaghetti squash though! Have you ever tried making it in the microwave? So much faster 🙂

    Your healthier chocolate mug cake looks fantastic. Recipe in the near future? 😀

    Reply
    • 9. gkennington  |  October 17, 2012 at 9:52 pm

      I’ll be trying it microwaved next time! Sounds much easier!
      I also meant to link the recipe to ChocolateCoveredKatie.com because I got it from her! It’s so yummy!

      Reply
  • […] been eating spaghetti squash like it’s my job lately. Not only did I have it for dinner on Tuesday night, but I ate it for lunch AND dinner yesterday. And yes, I’m having the last of it for lunch […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

