Marvelous in my Monday {Atlanta Adventures}

October 22, 2012 at 7:55 pm 9 comments

I am so excited about today’s MIMM post! I had a marvelous weekend away with the hubs and am even having an actual marvelous Monday so far! Get ready to see entirely too many exclamation points!!!!

Thanks Katie for the link up!

Thursday: After work, I packed my bags and headed to Atlanta with Chad for a youth ministers’ convention called YS Palooza (Youth Specialties). We arrived in Atlanta around 9:00 and ended up getting dinner at some Mexican restaurant (I’ve forgotten the name) that was about a block away from our hotel. It was good, except we’re pretty sure they used canned chicken for their nachos. 😛 The cheese dip was awesome though!

Friday: This was such a fabulous day! We slept in and had the NOT FREE breakfast buffet in the hotel. That shiz was $10 a person! We didn’t realize it until we were already getting stuff, so we just rolled with it. It was delicious… as it should have been for what we paid for it. After breakfast, we got ready and drove off towards the peach tree area of Atlanta. This was THE reason that I wanted to tag along for the trip. I wish I were kidding.

My first visit to TRADER JOE’S!! I almost cried when I walked in. I spent probably 30-45 minutes browsing and choosing things to bring home with us. Cold stuff was not an option though. 😦My loot included CAT COOKIES, pumpkin butter, hot and sweet mustard, cookie butter, pumpkin pancake and waffle mix, and on top of the cat cookies is a box of stevia.I also got some pumpkin greek yogurt, but it was in the fridge at the time.

After our trip to TJs, we went and explored the mall for a bit and then found yet ANOTHER heavenly place.The Lululemon store! Hubby was really enjoying himself. 😉I managed to only buy one thing, which still cost an arm and a leg, but I love it!This long sleeved shirt is going to be perfect for my half on Saturday!

We went back to the hotel where I took a lonnng nap. Amazing. Then we went to grab dinner before the first session of the YS Palooza. We ended up at Moe’s where I had this burrito the size of my head!I ate a little more than half before I threw in the towel.

Saturday: It was hard, but I got up at 5 am Saturday morning, dressed warm, and went out for a 12 mile run. The sidewalks in Atlanta are big, and our hotel was near a really nice neighborhood, so I just went out from the hotel for 6 miles and turned around and came back.It wasn’t my best pace, but I’ll take it!

I had a chocolate milk and this pumpkin greek yogurt from TJs for breakfast.I was actually disappointed in the yogurt. 😦 The flavor just wasn’t there.

After a few sessions at the conference, we went to Firehouse for lunch.Turkey, melted swiss, mushrooms, and tomato on wheat. 🙂

After lunch, it was back for more sessions of YS Palooza. Then we hit the road back home around 4:30! It was such a marvelous trip!

Sunday: A full day at church on Sunday morning, followed by lunch at my parents’, singing in a concert that afternoon, back to my parents’ for leftovers for dinner, and finally THE WALKING DEAD! Ahh! Once again, another brilliant episode. I couldn’t help feeling sorry for Lori though. I know I know, she deserves everything.But if my husband couldn’t even stand to look at me, I don’t what I’d do. 😦

Anyway, we’ve reached the end of my marvelous weekend, but what about this marvelous Monday??
I woke up at 5 am to get in my workout before school. I mentioned that I was participating in Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp for the next 8 weeks. Today was day one and Workout A was on the schedule. All I can say is holy scorpions! Those are hard. I was a sweaty mess by the end of this workout.

Today’s workout also called for intervals, but since I have the race this weekend, I’m keeping my cardio to only my training runs, so no intervals for me!

After a shower and getting dressed, I fixed some breakfast!2 egg omelet with mozzarella and spinach, and toast with pumpkin butter.

I had a long but really good day at work. I’m teaching my 3rd graders how to sing harmony, and it’s so fun working with them!

After work there was a very important task to get done. Groceries. BLEH. And since there’s no TJs, Whole Foods, Publix, etc. around here, I have to settle for Walmart and occasionally Food World. Don’t you just love Walmart on a Monday, especially around 4:00 when everyone’s getting off school and work? Yeah.

Anyway, after that not-so-marvelous grocery trip, our kitchen is fully stocked again! I made dinner with some of our new groceries.Chicken “nuggets,” asparagus, and sweet potatoes. YUM!

And now, hubby is washing the dishes! Can it get any more marvelous than that??? 🙂

I hope you had an equally as marvelous weekend and Monday as well!

Questions:

If you watch The Walking Dead, how do you feel about Lori and Rick’s relationship now??

Anything marvelous about your Monday?

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, MIMM, Running, Travel.

Thursday Thoughts {Early Birthween Surprise!} Five Things Friday

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  October 22, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    dude your weekend rocked. but no free breakfast, ugh. I love the free buffets at hotels, so worth it. you got like the best trader joe’s loot as well.

    Reply
    • 2. gkennington  |  October 23, 2012 at 6:49 am

      Yeah we were pretty bummed about the breakfast, but trader joe’s made it all better. lol

      Reply
  • 3. kelsey @ somuchlifetolive  |  October 22, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Awesome weekend! Congrats on a long run – that’s a great pace for 12 miles!!! I’m impressed:)

    Reply
  • 5. jessielovestorun  |  October 22, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Girl, you had an amazing weekend! I honestly don’t think it could’ve gotten much better!! Love the new top. It’s adorable.

    ohh & you made amazing purchases @ TJ!

    Reply
    • 6. gkennington  |  October 23, 2012 at 6:50 am

      Thanks! It was so much fun. And I’m just proud that I made it out of Lulu’s with only one thing! haha

      Reply
  • 7. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31)  |  October 23, 2012 at 7:49 am

    I love when I see the excitement for Trader Joe’s! I know I get excited every time I go there but I was extra excited like you when I had my first trip there!

    Glad you had such a great weekend with your husband! ❤

    Reply
    • 8. gkennington  |  October 23, 2012 at 8:46 am

      I thought of you when I found the hot and sweet mustard! lol I had it with dinner last night, and it’s amazing!

      Reply
  • 9. Fit Minded Mom  |  October 23, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    We finally got a Trader Joes in Fort Worth this Summer and I still get excited every time I go. I feel the same way about their yogurt, I prefer other brands more. However, their Salsa Verde is SOOO good and I will go there strictly for that!!

    Most of the time my grocery shopping is done at the ever lovely (yeah right) Walmart as well. Any other grocery store is a good 20-30 minute drive so I choose convenience most the time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

