MIMM {Too Marvelous for Words}

October 29, 2012 at 5:02 pm 5 comments

You guys, I almost have no words for how amazing and marvelous this weekend was, but I’ll do my best to recap in this weeks Marvelous in my Monday post. 🙂 Thanks Katie!

Friday: Around 4:30, Chad and I went to pick up my race packet. I stuck around the one booth that was there (from First Place Athletics in Florence) and bought the 13.1 magnet I’d been eyening. 😉 Then we went to Best Buy so I could pick up some headphones I’d been wanting to try.

Yurbuds! I’ll talk more about them in my race recap!

Our next stop was Olive Garden. I started with a big plate of salad and a breadstick of course, and ordered the five cheese ziti for my entree.

It was delicious, but I made sure to save some room for the most important part of the night… DESSERT!

Pumpkin pie cheesecake. This. Rocked. My. World.

We also stopped by Target on the way home to pick up some fun costumes for our fur babies. 🙂

Saturday: RACE DAY!!! I probably woke up five times throughout the night feeling wide awake, but then of course when my alarm went off at 5:15, I felt SO tired. But that quickly went away as soon as I got out of bed. I had a cup of coffee and reflected on my training to help me prepare for everything. Then I had some breakfast around 6:00.

Two pieces of toast with almond butter and pumpkin butter.

I spent a little time foam rolling and stretching, then it was time to get dressed! I wore a pair of New Balance crops, my Lululemon top I bought last week, and of course my Mizuno Wave Rider 15s. We left around 6:45 so that we’d have enough time to stop and get breakfast for Chad, and the next thing I knew it, we were at the race site! The race was held at The Marriot in Florence, so everyone was able to wait inside the conference room where it was warm. Thanks goodness, because it was freezing!

When there was about 10 minutes until start time, I decided to make my way to the start line. I jumped into the slowest corral they had. 10:00/mile and over. I knew I’d be taking it nice and easy. Then it was go time! I’m not going to say much about the race today because I’ll do a full recap once I’ve gathered all my thoughts. But I will say that it was one of the most challenging and amazing experiences of my life!

All done!!

YAY!!!! My official time was 2:19:11! I was happy to break 2:20 🙂

Not much happened for the rest of the day except for rest, rest, and more rest. Oh and a little bit of food. 😉

Sunday: I woke up Sunday still on a runner’s high and made it to the 8:30 service at church, taught Sunday school, and sang in the choir for the 10:50 service. Then Chad and I went to Walmart to stock up on supplies for the bonfire we were having for our youth.

I think we had plenty.

Later on at the bonfire, I met a new best friend. She’s a beautiful loving great dane, and I wanted to keep her. Her name is Dora!

I really wanted to keep her. I even tried to pick her up and take her with me.

But she wasn’t having any of that.

Nope!

That’s okay though, because I had some s’mores later in the night, and that made me feel better. 🙂 Chocolate does wonders!

We ended the night with the newest episode of The Walking Dead, and ummmmmmm… is the governor INSANE??

Monday: Just like last week, my Monday is turning out to be just as marvelous as my weekend! Good Mondays just make the rest of the week so much better. I started the morning out at the gym completing Workout A from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, and once again, the scorpions killed me. But, at least I was able to get through more of them this time. Progress?? 🙂 I was also really excited because I wore my race shirt!

All the half marathoners got tech tees (I still bought a long sleeved cotton shirt though). It was really comfortable, but I think I should’ve gotten a medium instead of large. I just figured that they would fit smaller, but I guess I was wrong. Oh well!

I had half a protein shake when I got home, and then made an egg white omelet after I showered and got dressed for work. On Mondays, I go to the intermediate school (RET) in the morning to teach 3rd grade, and then I drive over the the primary school (GWT) to teach K-2nd grade. When I went out to my car after teaching 3rd grade, I almost had a heart attack because my car was facing a different direction! I guess I thought someone had taken it and then put it back the wrong way? I don’t know, but I quickly realized that Chad must have been up to something while I was teaching. And I was right. As I got closer, I noticed that my car was clean! Anyone who’s seen my car recently knows that it has been the birds’ favorite toilet for a while, so Chad took it and got it cleaned, inside and out!

He did this in honor of “birthween week.” If you didn’t know, we celebrate birthWEEKS in our family. 🙂 I have a really awesome husband. And to make today even more marvelous, I came home to this cute sign after work today.

So it looks like I’ve got a fun night of activities to get ready for! I hope you all had a marvelous weekend and Monday as well! I’ll have a full race recap up sometime this week! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Life, MIMM, Running.

Five Things Friday It’s BIRTHWEEN!!!!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  October 29, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    nice job on that race girl! sounds like a kind of amazing weekend you have that is spilling over to an even better monday! have a great night

    Reply
  • 2. Kerri  |  October 29, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    I ran the UCP race this past Saturday too!! I recognized the background in your picture on Healthy Diva’s MMIM!! Girl, it was COLD!!! And that bridge…ugh. I almost got seasick (even though it was a river) so I had to focus on the oncoming traffic!! Congrats to you on the PR! (I PR’d Saturday too!!)

    Reply
  • 3. jessielovestorun  |  October 30, 2012 at 3:05 am

    First and foremost, you have the most adorable man in your life. Seriously, I love that he planned out your whole evening!!

    && secondly, congratulations on running an awesome race girl! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Life Without Limits Half Marathon Recap | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  November 3, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    […] “gather my thoughts” and give you a recap of my first half marathon. I’ve already talked a little bit about the race, but I wanted to go into a little more detail, so here it […]

    Reply
  • 5. OOPS « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  December 9, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    […] it. I think I’m going to save most of my Saturday and Sunday shenanigans for a Marvelous in My Monday post tomorrow, but for today’s post, I’ll fill you in on Friday night and catch up with […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

