Thanksgiving x2

November 24, 2012 at 12:46 pm 2 comments

*Side note: I wrote out this entire post, and then it got deleted. I had to rewrite it, so I’m sorry if it doesn’t seem very well written. I was frustrated!*

Well friends, our Thanksgiving festivities have definitely been a success so far! I’ll do my best to fit it all in a short recap. (Yeah right)
Beware, there will be no healthy food talk from this point forward. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I started the morning with a 3 mile run and walked the last .61 miles back to my house.

It felt good to start the day out with some exercise! ๐Ÿ™‚

After a shower and breakfast, I finished up the dessert I’d been working on the day before.

This is the same pumpkin trifle that I made last Thanksgiving. It was requested again this year! Recipe from DashingDish.com!

We hit the road around 11:15 to Shiloh, TN to have lunch with our extended family on my mom’s side.

I always love visiting with the part of my family because we only see them twice a year. Once at Thanksgiving and once at our family reunion in July. The food’s not to bad either. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I managed to stick to one plate (except for having seconds of sweet potatoes) and had a small slice of pecan pie and Dorothy’s homemade coconut cake for dessert.

After lunch we goofed around with the cousins. We especially love this particular child.

Overlook the fact that Chad is forcing her to smile. She may not like us as much as we like her, but there’s one thing she does like…. spaghetti.

Later in the afternoon, we all decided to go down to our great grandparent’s old house since it’s only a 2 minute drive from Dorothy’s.

We also found their old barn.

This gave Rick, Drew, and I the idea to take some awkward family pictures.

We’re weird, I know.

I even convinced Chad to take a decent picture with me.

We visited with family for a little while longer, then we had to head home because we had another Thanksgiving get together to go to with my dad’s side of the family.

I didn’t get as many pictures this time, but I did get one of my dinner plate.

And I wonder why I feel so bloated two days later?? lol

I also caught my dad wearing his Thanksgiving crown.

We stayed for a while, visiting with everyone, then Chad and I decided to call it a night and head home to get some sleep. We had an early morning of Black Friday shopping ahead! 3:00 a.m. was our wake-up call, and we were out and about by 3:45. We go Black Friday shopping with my mom and brother, Drew every year. It’s so much fun! Even if we don’t get anything, it’s hilarious to watch all the crazies!

Here’s a little glimpse of the boot massacre at Belk.

It was insane!

The remainder of our Friday was literally spent on the couch. I slept on and off all day while watching Band of Brothers. That show is so interesting. I never realized how much a like war stories!

We have another Thanksgiving feast to attend today with our immediate family on my mom’s side, so I’ll be recapping that one later!

Have a wonderful Saturday! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

WIAW Thanksgiving Eve MIMM!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jessielovestorun  |  November 26, 2012 at 3:14 am

    Ah, sounds like you’ve been having so much fun with your family and loved ones. It may be because I just watched Elf, but I couldn’t help but laugh at the picture of your cousin w/ the spaghetti. I couldn’t help but think of Buddy drenching his pasta in syrup & all the sugar toppings he added.

    Reply
    • 2. Eat Sweat Sing  |  November 26, 2012 at 7:29 am

      Haha! I love Elf! I think she’d be more than happy to eat her spaghetti with syrup and candy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

