The Weirdest Christmas Tradition

December 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm 4 comments

NO! I completely forgot to get a picture of me and Chad from the banquet last night!! Arrrrgh. I thought about making him put his suit back on after work and recreating last night…. but decided against it.

I did however snap some photos of the delicious dinner. It was very low lighting inside and the pictures didn’t turn out too great, so I did a little editing on my iPhone.

We started out with a salad that had cranberries, walnuts, blue cheese crumbles, and some kind of raspberry dressing.

12-11-12 Salad

Then we fixed our dinner plates. It was a buffet style meal with lots of delicious things to choose from!

12-11-12 dinner

I ended up with some pasta with shrimp,  green beans with sauce, something that had corn in it? lol, mushrooms (these were cooked with bell peppers and were sweet) a giant roll, and roast beef. Everything was delicious!

For dessert, we had this amazing strawberries and cream filled pastry.

12-11-12 dessert

It was probably my favorite food from the night!

The banquet was just as wonderful as last year. I only wished I would have gotten a picture of me and Chad! 😦

********

This morning I actually GOT UP with my 4:30 alarm and went to the gym to “enjoy” some time on the treadmill while catching up on The Office. For the past two weeks I’ve been skipping my weekday cardio workouts. I’ll set my alarm and even wake up to it, but then I just lay there until I decide it’s too late to run and I’ll go back to sleep. I have all the motivation in the world to get up for my strength training workouts, but cardio?? I’ve been lacking it there.

I guess something sparked my motivation though, because I was up and at the gym by 5 am ready to tackle 3 miles.

Run 12-11-12

DONE! (Look how sleepy my eyes look haha)

Maybe I can keep this going? It’d be nice to have the extra exercise, especially with all the extra holiday dinners, treats, etc. We’ll see if I make it again on Thursday! 😉

I was starving after my run, so I quickly fixed some pumpkin oats with some peanut butter.

12-4-12

Always in my ornament bowl. 😉

********

After work, I came home and grabbed a Pure Protein bar for a snack.

PURE PROTEIN BAR

At school, my lunch break is from 10:45-11:30, so since I eat really early I’m always ravenous by then end of the school day. These Pure Protein bars always keep me full until dinner time (as well as my beloved Quest Bars!!).

And now, I’ve just got to figure out what I’m cooking for dinner. Any suggestions??? 😉

********

Today is day 11 in Jenny’s Christmas Challenge.

challenge

“Favorite Christmas Tradition”

I’ve been really excited about this one because my family is all about Christmas traditions! The one that sticks out the most to me is probably the weirdest one of all. Just get ready you guys….

Every year on Christmas day, (for the last 25 or so years) my dad’s side of the family has a lottery. We call it The Mills Family Lottery. We have a song that was written by my grandmother to the tune of a demo song on an old OLD keyboard. It has five verses, and we sing it every year. One year tshirts were made. Then they made a banner. Then they went from drawing names written on paper, to everyone choosing numbers and using a bingo ball cage.  It gets serious. Names are called, feelings are hurt, there are sometimes tears, but it’s all in the spirit of Christmas. We’re just celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ in the best way we know how…………

lol Just kidding about that last part. 😉 This is probably the greatest family tradition that we have and is still thriving!! But even if The Mills Family Lottery does come to an end one day, I know that I am going to remember the tradition for the rest of my life. (I mean, who would ever forget that??)

Another tradition that I can’t leave out is my family’s Christmas eve tradition. Every Christmas eve, my mom makes tons of snack foods that we literally graze on all day. She doesn’t fix any meals. We usually just sit around this house all day watching Christmas movies or pulling our old home videos from past Christmases. At night, we go to our church for a special service and communion. Usually after church we just go back home, but for the past three years we’ve been going out for (really unhealthy) Chinese food with another family that we’re friends with. We like to pretend that we’re like the family in A Christmas Story that has to go to the Chinese restaurant on Christmas and eat duck. We can’t leave the restaurant without singing “fa ra ra ra ra, ra ra ra ra!” 😉

Wow, this sure is a long post. I’m going to cut it off before your eyes bleed. Have a wonderful evening!

Entry filed under: 25 Days of Blogging Challenge, Food, Running.

mimm! 12-12-12, A NOT WIAW

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristin  |  December 11, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    You’re inspiring! I need to start getting up and going to the gym!

    Reply
  • 2. Alex @ therunwithin  |  December 11, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    blue cheese crumbles can make any salad that much better, and to think I hated that cheese before.

    Reply
  • 3. jessielovestorun  |  December 12, 2012 at 2:33 am

    Way to knock out 3 miles bright n early girl =)

    Reply
  • 4. Christmas Fun! « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  December 27, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    […] we went to my aunt’s to celebrate with my dad’s side of the family. I talked about our Christmas tradition once before, and now here’s the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

