I Was Angry

December 17, 2012 at 9:45 pm 2 comments

After spending the weekend reflecting on everything that’s happened, I was going to get back to my normal blogging schedule. But, I can’t write a normal post today, I just can’t. My heart hurts for the families, students, teachers, and people in the community of Newtown, CT. On Friday afternoon, I got home from a full day of rehearsing our Christmas play with two groups of about 150 kindergarten-2nd graders. I was exhausted and just wanted to relax. Then I heard about the shooting from Chad and through Twitter. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. Precious, innocent children, just like the ones I was working with that day, had their lives stolen from them for no reason at all. I was confused, sad, hurt, but most of all, I was angry. I was angry at the person who did this, and even worse, I was angry that he was able to take his own life. I actually said the words “that’s not fair.” My own hatred wanted this man alive so that someone ELSE could hurt him. Of course I feel terrible for thinking something like that, but at the time, it made me so angry. Now I look back and think, this man is not the person I should be angry at. I shouldn’t hate him. For crying out loud, GOD LOVES HIM. Jesus DIED for him.

I am called to love God and love others, no matter who may fall under that category. The person I should hate is Satan. He brings every bit of evil into our world. But instead of spending my time dwelling on my hatred towards Satan, I’m running to God and hiding in His arms. I’m shouting out all my feelings and letting Him take care of everything else. If anything, this tragedy has taught me to rely on God more than ever. I’m not screaming for stricter gun control or more mental health research. I honestly believe that neither one of those can help us now. I’m crying out to the ONLY one who can save this world from what it’s becoming. I’m praying… always praying that God will save our world, that He will show me what I can do to help, and that myself and others will turn from sin which is causing our world to go up in flames. Praying is all I can think to do right now.

PLEASE pray for these victims, their families, the community of Newtown, but most importantly, this evil world that we live in.

screen-shot-2012-12-15-at-7-07-49-pm

Entry filed under: Helpful, Life. Tags: , , .

12-12-12, A NOT WIAW The Last 5 Days

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jessielovestorun  |  December 18, 2012 at 8:09 am

    Beautiful post hunnie

    Reply
  • 2. The Last 5 Days « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  December 18, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    […] here I am, back in the blog world again. Sorry for the disappearance, but after Friday, I didn’t feel like anyone wanted to hear about the things I ate, how many miles I ran, or […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

