Christmas Fun!

December 27, 2012 at 6:10 pm 3 comments

Hello! I definitely didn’t mean to take this long of a break from blogging, but it’s the holidays so family gatherings have been nonstop! I’m not doing any full recaps of all the different things that have been going on, but I’ll fill you in on a little bit of what I’ve done the past five days.

**********

Saturday I made sure to go to the gym and get in a nice sweat on the treadmill. I did about 30 minutes of sprinting intervals. Afterwards we had a Christmas lunch at my in-laws’ house. It was nice to have the whole family together! After lunch, Chad and I rode with my parents to my aunt’s house to celebrate my cousin’s 6th birthday. We ended up playing a lot of Dance Central 3, which ended with me feeling super gross in my sweaty long-sleeved shirt and jeans. Bleh. At least it was a workout. haha!

**********

Sunday was another fun day that started out with a morning at church. Then we had some friends over for a little “Friendmas” celebration that lasted well late the night. There were snacks, games, pizza, more games, and a really stupid movie ended the night.

**********

Monday I went to the gym to run and do a quick leg workout.

Photo 2

Then I came home to start cooking for the Christmas lunch we were hosting at our house for my father in-law and brother in-law and his family. We ate and sat around talking while my nephew Grayson played the piano and the recorder with Chad.

Grayson

Hope his dad isn’t too mad at us for letting him keep the recorder. 😉

Later that night we had a special Christmas Eve service at church complete with special “all in one” communion cups.

Photo 5

Also, my dad was a wise man.

Photo 4

He’s the middle wise man in blue. We could not stop cracking up! 😉

After the service, we went with another family to eat Chinese which has become one of my very favorite Christmas Eve traditions.

Photo 9

Photo 8

Photo 1

A fun night indeed. 🙂

**********

Christmas morning, Chad let me open my present. He actually picked out some stuff earlier in the month that he wanted for Christmas, so he didn’t have anything to open which was fine by him. I wasn’t expecting much since we don’t do big Christmas presents anymore, but I loved what he gave me!

Photo 13

The life proof case for my iPhone! I’m ready to take some underwater pictures now! lol

We spent the early morning at my parents’ house opening presents and taking pictures with our pups.

Photo 10

Then we went to my aunt’s to celebrate with my dad’s side of the family. I talked about our Christmas tradition once before, and now here’s the proof!

Photo 6

Later that afternoon, we went to my granddad’s house to celebrate with my mom’s side of the family. We ate, opened presents, and had our usual cousins photo shoot.

Photo 12

It was definitely a wonderful Christmas. 🙂

**********

The next day, I tried to get back to normal with a good breakfast.

Photo 15

We spent the morning shopping and found some really great deals. (50% at GAP!!) Then we had a movie date!

Photo 16

This movie y’all…. There were so many tears. GO SEE IT.

**********

This morning I made my return to the gym and knocked out 3 miles of sprinting intervals. I literally had sweat in my eyeballs.

Photo 14

I had been doing pretty good at getting back to my normal eating habits. I had oatmeal for breakfast, a veggie burger for lunch, and then I ruined everything by going to my parents’ and eating 3 cookies and a handful of Mom’s famous snack mix leftover from Christmas celebrations. Well, I know I technically didn’t ruin anything, but I did feel a little disappointed in myself. Oh well, the holidays only come once a year! 😉

Tonight, Chad and I are planning on going out for dinner and using up one of our many gift cards we got for Christmas.

I hope your Christmas was wonderful and that “real life” isn’t hitting you too hard. Lucky for me, I’ve still got five more days of break, so I plan on making the most out of them!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Running.

Teachers of the World Rejoice Marvelous New Year Goals

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  December 27, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    don’t feel disappointed!! It is the holidays, I think sometimes we tell ourselves we totally overate when in reality three cookies and m&ms – that is nothing! I promise you. Sounds like some great family time!

    Reply
  • 3. jessielovestorun  |  December 28, 2012 at 12:10 am

    Love the holiday recap! Glad you, Chad & your families had such a wonderful time together ❤ ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

