Marvelous New Year Goals

December 31, 2012 at 6:06 pm 3 comments

Happy New Years Eve!

There hasn’t been much going on around here the past few days, but that doesn’t mean that it hasn’t been MARVELOUS!

I’ve been soaking up all my free time and just being lazy. This past Friday and Saturday I slept until 9:45. It was AMAZING.

I haven’t cooked a meal (besides breakfast) in 18 days and wont be cooking tomorrow either. It’s sad but at the same time kind of awesome. It’s going to be hard getting back to my normal routine!

Workouts haven’t been as high on my list of things to do either. I did manage to get a 4 mile run in on Saturday, but it wasn’t pretty.

Photo 3

The reason for my slow run? Well, at mile 0.5 this happened.

Photo 1

Yep, I fell. Hard. I don’t even know what happened? I was running and then all of a sudden I was rolling, yes rolling, on the concrete. It hurt, but not as much as it embarrassed me. Thank goodness there was no one around to laugh/point/honk/throw garbage at me and make me even more embarrassed. So after I walked a little bit, I finished out the rest of the 4 miles. I didn’t realize until after my run that my clothes were sticking to my elbow and knee. Ugh. The blood had soaked through, and I could see little dark spots on my shirt and pants. Thankfully the stains came out!

Chad and I did a little shopping later that day and had Chinese for dinner. I usually never care about the fortunes and certainly don’t post pictures of them, but I thought this one was a really good one.

Photo 4

SO TRUE!

I loved this, especially with 2013 right around the corner. It reminded me that I can think about the things I want to accomplish all I want, but nothing will happen until I do something about it!

This inspired me to set a few goals for myself for the upcoming year. Some of these are things that I know I’ll do eventually, but others are things that I think about, but never really consider taking action on them. I’m committing myself to these goals and committing to actually doing something to make them happen! I don’t want these to be just dreams anymore.

2013 Dreams GOALS!

1. Read my bible daily. It’s something I don’t like to admit, but I’m not perfect, and I don’t read my bible every day. How can I have a deep personal relationship with God if I don’t read His word and talk to Him daily? This is something that I need to take immediate action on!

2. Save money. Chad is probably rolling his eyes right now. He knows that I’m terrible at saving money. But we’ve got big plans for 2013, and we can’t do it without money. So I’m going to have to sit down and come up with a plan of action for saving money every month.

3. Find joy in every day. First let me say that I absolutely love my job and wouldn’t want to be anywhere else, but I sometimes find myself living for the weekends (or for breaks like this one). Then the weekend is over so quickly and I’m back to just getting through the weekdays. I’m not unhappy, but I look forward to the weekend so much that it makes the regular week not as enjoyable. I want to find ways to love every minute of every day!

I wouldn’t really call these goals my “New Years Resolutions,” because I never keep my resolutions. πŸ˜‰ I plan on making sure I do something to take action on these goals!

**********

Tonight we’re having some friends over tonight to ring in the new year! With these goals in mind, I’m more than ready to make 2013 MARVELOUS! πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, MIMM, Running.

Christmas Fun! Thursday Thoughts

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  December 31, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    ouchhhhhhh. glad you are ok. I really like those goals, especially the one about finding joy in every day. very great message!

    Reply
  • 2. jessielovestorun  |  January 1, 2013 at 3:25 am

    Oh my heavens, you poor thing. I’m glad your okay though!!

    Reply
  • 3. What is Marvelous? « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  January 14, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    […] is- Katie for creating this awesome link up. One of my goals for 2013 is to find joy in every day, and this is just one thing to help me do that! Mondays may not always […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

