Thursday Thoughts

January 3, 2013 at 6:37 pm 6 comments

Darn it! I so meant to participate in WIAW yesterday, but I completely forgot. Buuuut I made this WIAW collage last night anyway, so I’ll just post it today. πŸ˜‰

Photo 1

  • Pumpkin oats to fuel my morning.
  • Chicken stew and a grilled cheese from The Palace
  • Protein bar for an afternoon snack
  • Chicken and veggie stir-fry for dinner

Add in a cup of hot chocolate after dinner and there you have it!

**********

Yesterday was my first day back to work, and I’ll be honest, it was hard getting up that morning. Needless to say, I did not make it to the gym before work. It was just a teacher work day, so I was able to get a lot done and feel prepared and ready for this semester!

This morning however, my alarm went of at 4:30 and (after a few moments of mental preparation) I got up determined to get my butt to the gym. Hooray for new year motivation! πŸ˜‰

I plopped myself on the treadmill for a HIIT workout. I did sprinting intervals for 2 miles, walked for 1/4 of a mile, and finished out the last 3/4s steady running at 6.0.

Photo 3

I was so sweaty. You know it’s bad what you have to wipe your sweat off the bottom of the treadmill.

Breakfast was delicious as always but looks a little messier than normal.

Photo 2

Students came back to school today, so it’s been go-go-go all day long. I’m glad to be back in my routine though!

Soooo this post is titled Thursday Thoughts, and I usually give you a big list of all my different thoughts from the week, but today I only have one though to talk about….

1. I’m going to run a marathon!!!! I don’t know if I’ve mentioned on the blog, but I’ve finally decided to go after 26.2 miles! There’s a marathon in Huntsville (May 11th) which isn’t too far away, so I’ve pretty much decided to sign-up. I’m just waiting to make sure there’s not another one around that time that I’d rather do. It’s exciting, but so scary! I start training NEXT WEEK! I trained for my half in beautiful fall weather, so training in the middle of winter is going to be very different!

Time to go work on dinner! πŸ™‚

**********

Question: For those of you who have run marathons, any advice?? I’m training alone which will be hard, so I need advise! πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Running, Thursday Thoughts.

Marvelous New Year Goals Not So Great Feelings

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  January 3, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    oh man your first marathon? that is amazing. You are gonna rock it. Getting back into the swing of work is tough for me too. really tough

    Reply
  • 2. jessielovestorun  |  January 4, 2013 at 3:16 am

    Ah, your first marathon! So excited for you. I also can’t believe you don’t live too far from huntsville. My aunt, uncle & cousins live there.. and my twin brother just moved there back in May too! Where about do you live in AL?

    Reply
    • 3. Eat Sweat Sing  |  January 4, 2013 at 7:28 am

      Oh wow! I live about an hour north of Huntsville in Tuscumbia. It’s a VERY small town. lol

      Reply
      • 4. jessielovestorun  |  January 4, 2013 at 11:19 pm

        Oh okay! How awesome. Got any single friends.. my twin brother is looking for a girl!! ( Ha Ha, he’d kill me kn owing I just asked this ?? )

  • 5. Julie  |  January 4, 2013 at 11:30 pm

    Those protein bars are awesome, especially that brownie one warmed up!

    Reply
  • 6. Fajita Sweat? « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  January 7, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    […] not be tight anymore, so I’ve decided to tone down the leg workouts a bit (especially since I’ll be running A LOT the next few months) and add in some abs or cross training on Mondays. Anyway, here’s what I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

