A Question and Plans for the Week 01/13

January 13, 2013 at 6:37 pm 3 comments

I saw someone speak on Dr. Oz the other day about how he believes that all diets are bad. At first I was against him because I believe that if someone is dangerously overweight, then cutting back calories to lose weight is a very good thing. But he explained his reasoning, and it got me thinking.

Basically he said that diets turn us into addicts. Whether it be addicted to cutting/counting calories, addicted to burning calories through exercise, and even some people have the opposite effect and become more addicted to food than before. I think that I was the latter. When I was 18 years old, I went on my first diet. Before then, I never thought about what I ate or how much I ate. I didn’t overeat or binge, and I didn’t turn down food because it wasn’t healthy. I had a normal and happy relationship with food. But after dieting for the first time, I think it turned my relationship with food from good to bad. I went through years of yo-yo dieting after that losing and gaining 20-30 pounds. It’s only been recently that I’ve been able to cope with my emotional eating and repair my thoughts on food.

Because of this, I feel like I agree with that Dr. from the show. For most people, I think that dieting is harmful to their mental health. I think the important thing to do, is to eat good, nutritious foods that help our bodies and not to worry about calories or fat or carbs. Eat when you’re hungry and stop when your full. That’s the only truly healthy diet there is!

I’m curious on your opinions though. Do you think that dieting is a bad thing?

**********

Anyway, here are my plans for the week of January 13, 2013

Workouts:

  • M- Arms and Chest Strength
  • T- 3 mile run
  • W- Leg Strength and 3 mile run
  • Th- 3 mile speed run
  • F- Shoulders and Back Strength
  • S- 7 mile run

Meals:

  • M- Buffalo turkey burgers w/ sweet potato wedges
  • T- Chicken stir-fry
  • W- Church
  • Th- Stuffed peppers
  • F- Out of town
  • S- Out of town

Other:

  • Doctor’s appointment
  • Last minute grocery trip before Friday
  • Voice lesson on Thursday
Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Life, Weekly Plans.

Five Things Friday What is Marvelous?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  January 13, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    I have to say I agree with dr. oz for some people. i remember in treatment them telling me that some people can go on these diets but just disconnect from that mentality when the time is up, while some can’t. My ed started as a diet, before that I never thought much about my body food etc. it stinks that I am now at this point where I still overly think about it. I so wish for those easier days

    Reply
  • 2. jessielovestorun  |  January 14, 2013 at 2:42 am

    I think it’s truly important to know which foods properly nourish your body, and how much of something you need to eat. I wouldn’t say I believe in diets, but there are certain people that I think need to watch their portion sizes.

    && out of town?? Are you going on vacation dear?? =)

    Reply
    • 3. Eat Sweat Sing  |  January 14, 2013 at 9:05 am

      Yep, agreed! Not going on vacation though. I wish! šŸ˜‰ We’re taking our youth on a weekend retreat. Vacation or not, it should still be fun!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

