Simple Buffalo Turkey Burgers

January 15, 2013 at 5:16 pm 5 comments

Here’s the thing. I love the flavor of buffalo wings, but I don’t love all the calories and fat that come along with fried chicken. Instead, I like to put buffalo sauce on everything. Literally. You can ask my husband.

sauce

So after a few weeks of making turkey burgers, I figured I could spice it up a bit and whip up some buffalo style turkey burgers! And it was pretty simple.

Now, I’m not claiming this recipe to be 100% mine because there are tons of similar buffalo turkey burger recipes out there, but I wanted something super simple and this is what I came up with.

Turkey Burgers

Ingredients:

  • 20 oz (about 1 lb) 97% fat free ground turkey
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tbs onion powder
  • 1/4 cup Frank’s buffalo wing sauce OR Frank’s hot sauce
  • (optional to help hold patties together) 1 egg
  • (optional to help hold patties together) 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • Whole wheat buns (I used Healthy Life 80 calorie buns)
  • 1 tbs Fat free ranch

*Note: I did not use the egg or bread crumbs, and my patties started falling apart a little bit in the skillet. This is why I’ve added them to the list of ingredients.*

Combine ground turkey, garlic salt, onion powder, buffalo sauce, and optional sticking add-ins in a large bowl. Form into 5 equal sized patties and let sit in fridge for 30 minutes. Cook in a skillet on medium (flipping halfway) for about 15 minutes or until cooked through.
When ready, place burgers on a toasted whole wheat bun and add 1 tbs of fat free ranch. Enjoy with homemade sweet potato wedges!

Without using the egg or bread crumbs, this burger came on to be about 245 calories!

If you try it, let me know how it turns out. Enjoy! šŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Food, Helpful, Recipes.

What is Marvelous? What I Do Wednesday

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt (@AthletesPlate)  |  January 15, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    These look great minus the ranch! Needs some bleu cheese though šŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 2. Eat Sweat Sing  |  January 16, 2013 at 5:46 am

      Most people would probably agree with you. šŸ™‚ But for some reason I can’t stand the taste of bleu cheese, so ranch was the next best thing!

      Reply
  • 3. Alex @ therunwithin  |  January 15, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    mmm I am digging ground turkey meat right now

    Reply
  • 4. jessielovestorun  |  January 16, 2013 at 4:15 am

    Ah, I was waiting for this recipe. Thanks for posting it šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. Five Things Friday « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  February 8, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    […] the week have been good, but it’s all stuff you’ve seen before. Stir-fry on Monday. Buffalo turkey burgers on Tuesday. Wednesday we eat at church. And last night was healthy chicken alfredo. We’re […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

