MIMM [Workout, Blog Birthday, Recipe]

January 28, 2013 at 8:29 pm 4 comments

Ooooooookay so I know it’s late in the day, but I am finally sitting down after a long day of work + a meeting + cooking, and I’m ready to join Katie and all the others for Marvelous in My Monday! πŸ™‚

We going allllll the way back to Saturday when I had my first group run for Team Total Health. I haven’t mentioned much about TTH on the blog, but it’s basically a group of people from our community who share a common goal in life, and that’s to be healthy! The group was started by a local dentist (Dr. Jimmy Gardiner, GO TO HIM! :)) who wants to emphasize total health, including dental health of course! Hence the name Team TOTAL Health. I’m really excited to be part of this group and can’t wait to see what this year brings!

A group from TTH met Saturday morning to run 5 miles together. I’ll be honest, the pace was much faster than I ever would have gone, but I pushed myself hard and averaged a pace of 9:19. For 5 miles, that’s great for me!

Photo 2

Here are some of us after our run.

Photo 3

It was definitely a marvelous run!

Another marvelous thing about my Saturday? An afternoon coffee pick-me-up while Chad and his nephew enjoy some cupcakes.

Photo 1

That night I made a super marvelous dinner for me and the boys.

Photo 5

I gave the boys real noodles of course, but for me it was spaghetti squash, tomato sauce, homemade meatballs, and parm! SO GOOD. I hope my MIL doesn’t get upset when I confess that the nephew said it was the best meal he’s ever eaten. πŸ˜‰

Sunday is always marvelous because it’s a REST DAY! Those are so important, and I am more than happy to take one (or more!) a week. πŸ™‚

**********

This morning, it was back to reality with a 4:30 am wake-up. Ugh. At least Chad and I were able to get in a really awesome marvelous lower body + abs workout. Take a look!

Sweatheart Lower Body plus Abs Workout

Chad and I would switch up workouts during the supersets. While I was doing weighted side crunches, he was doing leg presses, etc. It was actually fun. Try it out with your sweetheart in honor of Valentines day coming up! πŸ™‚

**********

Here’s something else marvelous that I just realized… It’s the official 1 year anniversary/birthday of Eat Sweat Sing! I started blogging in August 2011 as a way to document my new life as a wife and to document my weight-loss journey. Over 6 months, my blog evolved into what it is today. So happy birthday Eat Sweat Sing! πŸ™‚

So to end this completely random post detailing all the random marvelousness in my life the past three days, how about a look at tonight’s dinner?

Photo 6

Parmesan encrusted tilapia, roasted green beans, and baked sweet potatoes. This made my tummy happy! πŸ™‚

Thanks to this girl for the tilapia inspiration! I took her suggestion and tweaked it a bit to create a new version of boring tilapia. I don’t really measure spices, so this is just an estimate of what I used.

Parmesan Encrusted Tilapia

  • 4 small tilapia fillets
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 2 tbs bread crumbs
  • 2 tbs parmesan cheese

Coat both sides of tilapia in mixture and cook on medium heat in a greased skillet for 4-5 minutes on each side. EASY!

**********

Off to find something sweetΒ  before bed and yet another 4:30 am wake-up call. Have a marvelous night!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, MIMM, Random, Running. Tags: , , , , , .

Plans for the Week 01/27 Countdown to the Weekend + My Marathon Decision

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  January 28, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    oh gosh parmesan crusted? what a great idea! so happy your group run went well. happy monday!

    Reply
  • 2. jessielovestorun  |  January 28, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    Your dinner looks delicious!! Yay for Tilapia Monday’s πŸ˜‰ Ha Ha.

    Reply
  • 3. healthydivaeats  |  January 29, 2013 at 8:01 am

    Mmmmm that tilapia looks heavenly!!

    Rest days are so important! I take more rest days now since I am pregnant too πŸ˜‰

    Happy week!

    Reply
  • 4. MIMM [Races, Guns, Wings, & Cupcakes] « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  February 4, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    […] admit it, you were going to skip reading this post because it’s just another Marvelous in My Monday. But the title got you, right? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

