Countdown to the Weekend + My Marathon Decision

February 1, 2013 at 4:45 pm 5 comments

Let’s recap the week with a little countdown shall we? 🙂

FIVE Meals
1. Monday’s tilapia dinner.
2. Thursday we had a very similar looking meal. Chicken with roasted asparagus and carrots.
3. Breakfasts from the week include: Oatmeal
4. Omelets
5. Yogurt bowls

20130201-082721.jpg

FOUR Workouts
1. A tough legs and core workout on Monday
2. Two 3 mile runs on Tuesday and Thursday. Thursday’s run was broken up between the treadmill and elliptical because of knee pain.
3. A 4 mile run Wednesday afternoon complete with lots of chest sweat. TMI?
4. Arms and Chest strength workout this morning

20130201-112954.jpg

THREE Things I’m Excited for this Weekend
1. Another group run with Team Total Health
2. Running my first race of 2013
3. CHAD’S 25th BIRTHDAY!!!!!

TWO Recipes I Owe You
1. Skinny Chicken Alfredo
2. Healthy Chicken Tenders

20130201-150743.jpg

20130201-150944.jpg
Both of these are coming soon!!

ONE Major Decision I’ve Made
1. It looks like a spring marathon is just not in the cards for me you guys. I won’t go into details, but I found out that I can’t run the marathon I planned on running in May. At first I though no big deal, I’ll just find another one around that time. Wrong. Apparently, there are no other marathons during the months of May, June, July, or even August in Alabama or anywhere in driving distance of where I live. But I found one in September that’s not too far away. I also had the option of upgrading my RnR Nashville half marathon registration to the full, but it’s a full two weeks earlier than I planned, so I’m behind in training. I put a call out on Facebook to seek advice of some runner friends. While some thought I should go for it, one comment made me realize that, this being my first marathon, I don’t want to under-train and end up burning out during the race, therefore having a bad experience. I want to be well trained and feel totally ready for something this big. So, long story short I’ve decided to keep my Nashville half marathon entry and run my first full marathon in September. My devotion this morning definitely made me feel like this was the right decision.

20130201-153709.jpg
Though I didn’t necessarily think I was “worshipping” my marathon training, I did realize that all this training was consuming my thoughts. I was always thinking about how I would fit in long mid-week runs, how I could work in long runs during weekends when we had youth retreats, and things like that. So in a way, I’m relieved that I can wait a little while before jumping back into marathon training. At least I’ll have the summer off of work to get in all my runs. It’ll just be freakin hot.

Well, Chad and I are off to grocery shop and then have a little dinner date later tonight! Have a good one! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Random, Recipes, Running.

MIMM [Workout, Blog Birthday, Recipe] MIMM [Races, Guns, Wings, & Cupcakes]

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  February 1, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    hey i think you are being very smart with this. maybe it just isn’t meant to be you know? maybe september is when you are really going to rock it

    Reply
  • 3. jessielovestorun  |  February 1, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    I really enjoy these posts every Friday! Also you made a great great decision girl. September will be here before you know it anyways 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Matt (@AthletesPlate)  |  February 3, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    I lived in Alabama for four years. If you want a decent marathon, you have to travel to Tennessee or Georgia. And not during the summer months!

    Reply
  • 5. Countdown to the Weekend | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  April 5, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    […] have enough “things” to make it to 5 in each category  So I’m recapping by counting down to the weekend […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

