MIMM [Races, Guns, Wings, & Cupcakes]

February 4, 2013 at 7:52 pm 2 comments

Okay admit it, you were going to skip reading this post because it’s just another Marvelous in My Monday. But the title got you, right? 😉 haha


This weekend was spent celebrating the 25th birthday of the most amazing husband a girl could ask for!

Chad

There was SO. MUCH. MARVELOUSNESS.

First up was Friday date night. We went to Olive Garden for dinner where I had the Venetian Apricot Chicken. So yummy!

dinner

Then we came home for a laid back evening at home. I went to bed early because I had a big morning on Saturday. At 7:30, I met up with a group from Team Total Health for a 4 mile run around town. I stuck with the only other girl runner in our group, and we talked all throughout the run. It wasn’t until we finished that I realized we’d kept a 9:10 pace AND had negative splits!! Wahoo for getting faster! 🙂

4 mile run

Right after our run, a bunch of us walked over to a local church to sign up for a 2 mile race they were hosting. Since it was just 2 miles, I decided to push my pace a bit. For most runners this isn’t fast, but I averaged an 8:25 pace for the two miles and finished right at 17 minutes!

Race Time

Good enough for 1st place in my age group. 🙂

first place

A little Team Total Health action…

TTH

After the race, I stopped for a coffee and headed home for lunch. I quickly made an omelet and scarfed it down because Chad and I had big plans for the afternoon….

shooting

Chad has been wanting to take me shooting for a while now, and he finally got his wish. We went out to a friend’s house for a little target practice. I was amazing not too good, as expected. I got cold pretty quickly, so I spent the last 15 minutes or so sitting in the car with the heat on while Chad finished up.

in car

I’m definitely glad we did this. I feel much more comfortable handling the guns now. Lets just hope I’ll never have to use them!

On our way home, we stopped by our favorite bakery to buy some cupcakes for after dinner. Speaking of dinner, Chad was able to pick whatever he wanted for dinner Saturday night in honor of his birthday. Want to know what he chose??

wings

These wings…. from WALMART. Whatever makes him happy I guess. 🙂

I’m a bad blogger and didn’t take any pictures of the cupcakes. But we got a bunch of different flavors and cut them up so we could try all of them! Flavors included peanut butter parfait, snickers, red velvet, cookies n’ creme, and key lime. I was pretty surprised because key lime ended up being my favorite!

Sunday (which was Chad’s actual birthday) was another marvelous day complete with morning church, birthday lunch with my in-laws, and cake w/ ice cream at my parents’ house. After church that night, we went with some of our youth to eat at Fiesta. The kids made sure to tell our waitress it was Chad’s birthday. 😉

fiesta

And that’s about it for my marvelous weekend! Hope yours was just as good! 🙂

 

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Life, MIMM, Running, Uncategorized.

Countdown to the Weekend + My Marathon Decision Leg Torture + Healthy Alfredo Sauce!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  February 4, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    oh man birthday weekends are the best, even if they aren’t yours. again congrats on a great race!

    Reply
  • 2. Weekend Things and Such | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  April 23, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    […] lot went down this weekend, and I always mean to do a MIMM post to recap everything, but Mondays have gotten to be so tiring that by the time I get home, I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

